Skip to content

PPP loans in Iowa

The Small Business Administration guaranteed 171,720 Paycheck Protection Program loans to businesses operating in Iowa, $8.1 billion in all: 1.0% of the program’s dollars. 168,332 of those loans carry a forgiveness amount in SBA’s file as of September 30, 2024.

Iowa, as of September 30, 2024

$8.1 billion
Approved
$8,085,507,000
As each loan now stands in SBA’s file.
1.0%
Share of the program
Of the $792.6 billion approved nationally, as each loan now stands.
171,720
Loans
130,304 first draws and 41,416 second draws.
98.0%
Forgiven
168,332 of 171,720 loans carry a forgiveness amount, $8.0 billion in all.
1.4%
Charged off
2,424 of 171,720 loans, approved for $49.5 million. That is the loans' size, not what SBA lost.

Every county in Iowa, as SBA names it

The county is SBA’s name for where the business operates. A loan SBA filed with no county is counted under “Not stated” rather than left out.

Paycheck Protection Program loans in Iowa by county, as of September 30, 2024
CountyApprovedLoansForgiven loans
Polk$1,399,511,15914,79414,123
Linn$662,104,1227,6377,165
Scott$451,276,2245,4655,148
Dubuque$333,738,0205,2085,034
Black Hawk$299,545,4044,4454,189
Johnson$298,200,4034,9824,730
Woodbury$260,673,2954,0053,922
Sioux$199,156,1794,0594,049
Story$181,091,8652,7012,655
Dallas$156,140,1062,9372,886
Pottawattamie$145,801,9922,9932,922
Cerro Gordo$116,455,8962,4052,365
Des Moines$105,306,2901,6331,520
Plymouth$89,016,9712,8292,819
Carroll$86,148,7272,8282,814
Webster$83,342,8281,8441,818
Winneshiek$82,306,0672,1262,118
Bremer$79,404,5901,6191,608
Clinton$73,076,9962,3922,330
Kossuth$71,839,3682,4562,429
Marion$69,873,9331,4221,406
Warren$69,306,3391,6151,580
Muscatine$67,643,5921,5381,515
Lee$65,168,9301,6541,636
Washington$64,707,3241,7121,702
Clay$64,328,5371,4271,419
Dickinson$63,327,9611,7811,779
Jasper$60,354,7401,6411,618
Clayton$60,051,2931,7571,752
Wapello$58,300,6581,2781,242
Marshall$57,946,0381,4031,385
Buena Vista$57,923,2371,7381,709
Delaware$54,403,4042,0312,019
Buchanan$51,993,2501,4631,450
Crawford$51,649,4611,6871,675
Jefferson$51,155,2651,1921,180
Mahaska$50,511,2331,1971,178
Obrien$49,560,9641,7211,716
Hardin$48,359,5731,4951,485
Chickasaw$48,242,2041,5211,516
Benton$47,595,3121,6051,586
Jackson$46,800,4661,6871,671
Henry$46,102,9131,1121,097
Iowa$44,804,6411,2201,213
Boone$44,048,0681,1491,135
Shelby$44,013,0631,4641,464
Poweshiek$43,593,8431,4111,399
Jones$42,265,6881,5391,531
Lyon$42,059,2101,6121,610
Floyd$42,035,7761,3381,319
Fayette$39,402,5221,6081,596
Cherokee$38,763,5901,4151,410
Allamakee$38,699,6331,4111,409
Cass$38,202,4671,0951,088
Hancock$37,003,6051,1571,154
Mitchell$36,860,9391,2091,203
Cedar$36,823,3471,2991,283
Hamilton$36,782,731894886
Wright$36,553,651934926
Ida$35,162,470991989
Grundy$34,495,0231,0261,024
Harrison$34,019,8911,3941,389
Humboldt$33,554,937961959
Page$33,455,4031,0801,074
Howard$33,331,6801,0721,068
Tama$32,303,8521,4151,405
Madison$31,996,5911,0551,046
Audubon$31,138,840925921
Pocahontas$30,600,6041,0381,035
Greene$30,577,912869856
Keokuk$30,432,2151,1781,175
Winnebago$29,932,646971966
Palo Alto$29,749,0461,1121,111
Sac$29,673,8371,4501,449
Franklin$29,237,4071,0511,048
Calhoun$28,372,0971,1981,192
Union$28,346,173992984
Montgomery$27,902,721785780
Butler$27,618,7261,3451,342
Guthrie$25,375,3761,1431,141
Osceola$24,925,692845843
Monona$21,569,313939936
Mills$21,518,947556550
Emmet$20,880,999811801
Louisa$20,256,586677673
Appanoose$19,780,137744742
Adair$19,435,115974972
Davis$17,024,959801796
Monroe$16,498,555678673
Decatur$16,108,541604598
Worth$15,552,737707703
Wayne$15,317,045588576
Ringgold$14,433,343707704
Van Buren$13,343,645576571
Clarke$13,205,857538533
Taylor$13,174,205735733
Fremont$13,134,219462458
Lucas$11,045,222482477
Adams$9,658,110454452
Not stated$10,41711

Iowa elsewhere on the Factbook

  • Reported crimeCrime and justice

    Offenses reported to police by type, the trend, and the reporting coverage.

  • Cities by violent crime rateCrime and justice

    What each agency serving 25,000 or more reported, ranked. Agency populations overlap, so these do not add up to the state.

  • Prison populationCrime and justice

    People held under the state’s correctional authority, and the imprisonment rate. A different publisher counting a different thing.

  • Arrests by race, sex and ageCrime and justice

    Arrests as the FBI’s participating agencies reported them, with what the figures can and cannot support at the top.

  • Hate crimeCrime and justice

    Incidents reported to the FBI by bias motivation, as counts — the collection publishes no participation share, so there is no rate to compare states on.

  • Federal obligationsFederal spending

    What federal agencies obligated against a place of performance in the state, per resident and by agency.

  • Registered nonprofitsNonprofits

    How many organizations the IRS lists in the state, what they report as revenue, and which kinds of work they do.

  • Payments to doctorsHealth

    What drug and device companies reported paying doctors with a practice address in the state, and the largest recipients.

  • Farm program paymentsFarm subsidies

    What the Farm Service Agency paid through the state’s county offices, by program and by recipient. The offices that administered the payments, not a count of farms: a recipient addressed elsewhere is counted where they were paid.

  • The Iowa Factbook entryAcross the Factbook

    Every measure the Factbook publishes for this state in one place, each with where it ranks among the others and the record it came from.

The immigration hub has no page for this state: EOIR runs no immigration court here, and CBP publishes by sector and field office, which are its own areas of responsibility rather than a geography. Immigration and the border.

Sources

Data retrieved