Davidson County
A public school district in Nashville, Tennessee, with 162 operational schools in 2024–25.
The district in 2024–25
- 81,021
- Students enrolled
- Not reported by the state
- Teachers, full-time equivalent
- Not reported by the state
- All staff, full-time equivalent
- $17,808
- Spending per pupil, fiscal year 2023
- Current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them.
How this compares
- Students enrolled: 81,021 in 2024–25
- Ranks 40th of 17,800 districts by enrollment, and 2nd of 149 in Tennessee. Larger than 99% of the 17,800 districts in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. The ranking →
- Current spending per pupil: $17,808 in fiscal year 2023
- More than 63% of the 17,189 districts with a spending figure. Current spending leaves out buildings and debt, and a district of a few pupils can spend far more per pupil than any large one.
Spending and revenue
Davidson County spent $17,808 per pupil in fiscal year 2023, against $8,087 in fiscal year 2005
Current spending per pupil, each fiscal year: current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them to NCES. In the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. A year with no column is a year the survey has no figure for.
U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics — School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal year 2005 onwards
The figures behind this chart
| Fiscal year | Spending per pupil | Current expenditure | Membership |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2023 | $17,808 | $1.4 billion | 80,651 |
| FY2022 | $15,421 | $1.2 billion | 80,381 |
| FY2021 | $13,624 | $1.1 billion | 80,494 |
| FY2020 | $12,112 | $1.0 billion | 85,588 |
| FY2019 | $12,380 | $1.0 billion | 84,667 |
| FY2018 | $11,999 | $1.0 billion | 84,728 |
| FY2017 | $11,206 | $954.4 million | 85,163 |
| FY2016 | $10,618 | $908.9 million | 85,598 |
| FY2015 | $10,344 | $869.6 million | 84,069 |
| FY2014 | $10,279 | $851.2 million | 82,806 |
| FY2013 | $9,686 | $785.8 million | 81,134 |
| FY2012 | $9,793 | $787.3 million | 80,393 |
| FY2011 | $9,800 | $772.1 million | 78,782 |
| FY2010 | $9,875 | $741.4 million | 75,080 |
| FY2009 | $9,685 | $719.7 million | 74,312 |
| FY2008 | $9,200 | $678.2 million | 73,715 |
| FY2007 | $8,561 | $631.2 million | 73,731 |
| FY2006 | $8,303 | $603.7 million | 72,713 |
| FY2005 | $8,087 | $588.8 million | 72,807 |
Revenue by source, fiscal year 2023
| Source | Revenue | Share of total |
|---|---|---|
| Federal | $322.9 million | 17.4% |
| State | $467.8 million | 25.2% |
| Local | $1.1 billion | 57.5% |
| Total | $1.9 billion |
Federal, state and local revenue as the F-33 records them. Each share is of the survey’s total revenue, so a part withheld does not inflate the others.
The district’s schools
162 operational schools, A to Z, 100 to a page: page 1 of 2.
2 more columns on a wider screen
The district’s entry
- Status
- Open
- Type
- Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union
- Charter status
- Not a charter district
- Grades
- Pre-kindergarten to Grade 12
- NCES district ID
- 4703180
Elsewhere
- Public schools in Tennessee — enrollment, teachers and spending across the state, against the nation.
- Every school district in Tennessee — A to Z, each with its page.
- Tennessee on the American Factbook — the state’s entry, across every hub.
Sources
- Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved September 25, 2026
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.
- School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal years 2005 to 2023
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), "School District Finance Survey (F-33)," fiscal years 2005 to 2023.
Data retrieved