PPP loans in Virginia
The Small Business Administration guaranteed 221,084 Paycheck Protection Program loans to businesses operating in Virginia, $18.0 billion in all: 2.3% of the program’s dollars. 207,049 of those loans carry a forgiveness amount in SBA’s file as of September 30, 2024.
Virginia, as of September 30, 2024
- $18.0 billion
- Approved
- $17,971,973,798
- As each loan now stands in SBA’s file.
- 2.3%
- Share of the program
- Of the $792.6 billion approved nationally, as each loan now stands.
- 221,084
- Loans
- 165,093 first draws and 55,991 second draws.
- 93.7%
- Forgiven
- 207,049 of 221,084 loans carry a forgiveness amount, $17.3 billion in all.
- 4.2%
- Charged off
- 9,350 of 221,084 loans, approved for $257.6 million. That is the loans' size, not what SBA lost.
Every county in Virginia, as SBA names it
The county is SBA’s name for where the business operates. A loan SBA filed with no county is counted under “Not stated” rather than left out.
| County | Approved | Loans | Forgiven loans |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fairfax | $3,921,942,591 | 37,078 | 35,118 |
| Loudoun | $1,229,564,871 | 12,955 | 12,384 |
| Virginia Beach City | $958,097,984 | 12,514 | 11,614 |
| Henrico | $940,202,364 | 10,713 | 9,876 |
| Arlington | $782,016,727 | 6,743 | 6,393 |
| Prince William | $754,794,990 | 11,259 | 10,282 |
| Alexandria City | $673,088,062 | 6,960 | 6,494 |
| Chesterfield | $641,945,000 | 8,607 | 7,952 |
| Richmond City | $568,133,297 | 6,753 | 6,001 |
| Norfolk City | $475,664,443 | 5,595 | 4,954 |
| Chesapeake City | $447,225,095 | 5,558 | 5,108 |
| Newport News City | $291,197,385 | 4,163 | 3,664 |
| Hanover | $282,403,315 | 3,054 | 2,941 |
| Roanoke City | $249,103,310 | 2,850 | 2,644 |
| Charlottesville City | $242,604,882 | 2,334 | 2,272 |
| Albemarle | $217,400,328 | 2,571 | 2,489 |
| Fairfax City | $210,579,441 | 1,739 | 1,677 |
| Lynchburg City | $197,836,952 | 2,055 | 1,966 |
| Stafford | $184,327,975 | 2,780 | 2,548 |
| Spotsylvania | $180,909,792 | 2,480 | 2,300 |
| Hampton City | $168,953,064 | 3,003 | 2,639 |
| Fauquier | $159,749,937 | 2,028 | 1,951 |
| James City | $154,795,428 | 2,131 | 2,060 |
| Montgomery | $146,144,156 | 1,757 | 1,700 |
| Roanoke | $145,492,342 | 1,804 | 1,731 |
| Frederick | $132,886,742 | 1,505 | 1,450 |
| Manassas City | $130,481,702 | 1,456 | 1,366 |
| Portsmouth City | $127,228,543 | 2,268 | 1,933 |
| Harrisonburg City | $123,366,859 | 1,496 | 1,453 |
| Rockingham | $119,656,317 | 1,658 | 1,629 |
| Winchester City | $106,007,231 | 1,153 | 1,104 |
| Bedford | $105,115,439 | 1,576 | 1,518 |
| Fredericksburg City | $104,742,368 | 1,275 | 1,202 |
| Suffolk City | $101,699,712 | 1,955 | 1,745 |
| Falls Church City | $95,580,689 | 993 | 959 |
| Culpeper | $85,474,734 | 1,242 | 1,181 |
| Washington | $82,166,848 | 1,438 | 1,414 |
| Augusta | $81,068,299 | 1,419 | 1,390 |
| Danville City | $80,291,682 | 1,150 | 1,065 |
| York | $78,444,378 | 1,241 | 1,182 |
| Salem | $74,619,695 | 756 | 731 |
| Campbell | $66,492,279 | 927 | 878 |
| Petersburg City | $60,021,926 | 1,459 | 1,204 |
| Tazewell | $59,451,047 | 877 | 854 |
| Franklin | $57,604,209 | 879 | 840 |
| Staunton City | $54,217,187 | 793 | 767 |
| Botetourt | $53,197,061 | 710 | 692 |
| Powhatan | $50,954,406 | 659 | 645 |
| Pittsylvania | $47,322,535 | 807 | 754 |
| Warren | $46,591,362 | 702 | 666 |
| Shenandoah | $45,338,197 | 792 | 772 |
| Henry | $41,646,891 | 696 | 637 |
| Mecklenburg | $40,406,481 | 731 | 691 |
| Orange | $37,536,541 | 654 | 622 |
| Wythe | $37,342,254 | 746 | 725 |
| Goochland | $37,315,346 | 563 | 549 |
| Bristol | $35,910,788 | 456 | 434 |
| Gloucester | $34,917,069 | 770 | 735 |
| Williamsburg City | $34,577,605 | 363 | 345 |
| Prince Edward | $33,885,733 | 487 | 467 |
| Accomack | $33,053,991 | 660 | 616 |
| Waynesboro City | $32,570,443 | 475 | 461 |
| Isle Of Wight | $32,014,369 | 737 | 691 |
| Louisa | $30,572,729 | 552 | 524 |
| Russell | $30,060,214 | 719 | 708 |
| Colonial Heights City | $29,111,703 | 526 | 490 |
| Martinsville City | $28,292,885 | 315 | 292 |
| Halifax | $27,718,326 | 575 | 542 |
| Amherst | $27,592,586 | 381 | 350 |
| Wise | $27,465,795 | 497 | 492 |
| Lancaster | $27,216,910 | 544 | 536 |
| Nelson | $27,013,971 | 359 | 352 |
| Clarke | $26,523,971 | 448 | 438 |
| Page | $26,029,397 | 762 | 751 |
| Smyth | $25,976,911 | 783 | 766 |
| King George | $25,551,187 | 364 | 340 |
| Buchanan | $24,512,052 | 294 | 289 |
| Rockbridge | $23,987,055 | 441 | 434 |
| New Kent | $23,858,874 | 437 | 416 |
| Patrick | $23,706,940 | 297 | 284 |
| Hopewell City | $23,675,672 | 584 | 499 |
| Pulaski | $23,060,967 | 463 | 445 |
| Prince George | $22,764,285 | 452 | 399 |
| Manassas Park City | $22,336,218 | 296 | 269 |
| Nottoway | $21,143,043 | 349 | 333 |
| Galax City | $20,624,990 | 265 | 260 |
| Carroll | $20,561,044 | 505 | 486 |
| Fluvanna | $20,067,429 | 402 | 386 |
| Madison | $19,941,024 | 299 | 291 |
| Caroline | $19,643,052 | 463 | 413 |
| Northampton | $18,194,494 | 304 | 287 |
| Dinwiddie | $17,763,354 | 434 | 385 |
| King William | $17,722,776 | 330 | 314 |
| Lexington City | $16,979,291 | 323 | 319 |
| Buckingham | $16,096,435 | 217 | 210 |
| Greene | $15,772,857 | 373 | 365 |
| Floyd | $14,948,638 | 400 | 393 |
| Covington City | $14,783,936 | 184 | 181 |
| Franklin City | $14,158,316 | 236 | 206 |
| Middlesex | $14,149,440 | 356 | 341 |
| Amelia | $13,909,524 | 313 | 298 |
| Radford | $13,261,360 | 264 | 254 |
| Essex | $13,042,393 | 290 | 280 |
| Westmoreland | $13,015,569 | 284 | 268 |
| Lee | $13,015,528 | 480 | 469 |
| Northumberland | $13,010,534 | 398 | 393 |
| Sussex | $12,998,082 | 169 | 153 |
| Southampton | $12,745,644 | 352 | 341 |
| Brunswick | $12,143,233 | 338 | 292 |
| Appomattox | $12,103,849 | 380 | 364 |
| Richmond | $11,997,543 | 187 | 175 |
| Emporia | $11,473,301 | 211 | 169 |
| Scott | $11,108,453 | 394 | 387 |
| Giles | $10,933,495 | 261 | 256 |
| Lunenburg | $10,911,276 | 216 | 201 |
| Charlotte | $10,414,702 | 250 | 237 |
| Norton City | $10,405,080 | 160 | 157 |
| Rappahannock | $10,145,813 | 192 | 187 |
| Alleghany | $10,045,823 | 181 | 172 |
| Poquoson City | $9,940,141 | 192 | 182 |
| Grayson | $9,681,257 | 422 | 417 |
| Charles City | $9,277,633 | 123 | 118 |
| Greensville | $8,361,253 | 221 | 156 |
| Bath | $7,752,227 | 99 | 96 |
| Mathews | $7,547,863 | 229 | 216 |
| Dickenson | $7,403,298 | 174 | 169 |
| Buena Vista City | $6,366,353 | 77 | 77 |
| Bland | $6,057,505 | 121 | 121 |
| Cumberland | $5,396,367 | 182 | 165 |
| King And Queen | $5,357,950 | 100 | 95 |
| Surry | $3,570,096 | 113 | 102 |
| Craig | $1,944,808 | 118 | 116 |
| Highland | $1,536,394 | 52 | 51 |
| Not stated | $147,997 | 4 | 4 |
Virginia elsewhere on the Factbook
- Reported crimeCrime and justice
Offenses reported to police by type, the trend, and the reporting coverage.
- Cities by violent crime rateCrime and justice
What each agency serving 25,000 or more reported, ranked. Agency populations overlap, so these do not add up to the state.
- Prison populationCrime and justice
People held under the state’s correctional authority, and the imprisonment rate. A different publisher counting a different thing.
- Arrests by race, sex and ageCrime and justice
Arrests as the FBI’s participating agencies reported them, with what the figures can and cannot support at the top.
- Hate crimeCrime and justice
Incidents reported to the FBI by bias motivation, as counts — the collection publishes no participation share, so there is no rate to compare states on.
- Federal obligationsFederal spending
What federal agencies obligated against a place of performance in the state, per resident and by agency.
- Registered nonprofitsNonprofits
How many organizations the IRS lists in the state, what they report as revenue, and which kinds of work they do.
- Payments to doctorsHealth
What drug and device companies reported paying doctors with a practice address in the state, and the largest recipients.
- Immigration courtsImmigration and the border
The EOIR courts sitting in the state, what they completed and still have pending, and how far apart their asylum grant rates are. The courts, not the state’s residents: a detention court hears cases from far outside it.
- Farm program paymentsFarm subsidies
What the Farm Service Agency paid through the state’s county offices, by program and by recipient. The offices that administered the payments, not a count of farms: a recipient addressed elsewhere is counted where they were paid.
- The Virginia Factbook entryAcross the Factbook
Every measure the Factbook publishes for this state in one place, each with where it ranks among the others and the record it came from.
The immigration link above is EOIR’s courts, which sit in this state. CBP’s encounters are not by state and will not be: its sectors and field offices are areas of responsibility rather than a geography, and assigning them to states would be a claim the data does not make. Immigration and the border.
Sources
- SBA Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) FOIA — loan-level data — U.S. Small Business Administration · Public domain — U.S. Government work · retrieved September 25, 2026
Data retrieved