White County
A public school district in Sparta, Tennessee, with 8 operational schools in 2024–25.
The district in 2024–25
- 3,736
- Students enrolled
- Not reported by the state
- Teachers, full-time equivalent
- Not reported by the state
- All staff, full-time equivalent
- $10,161
- Spending per pupil, fiscal year 2023
- Current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them.
How this compares
- Students enrolled: 3,736 in 2024–25
- Ranks 2,609th of 17,800 districts by enrollment, and 64th of 149 in Tennessee. Larger than 85% of the 17,800 districts in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. The ranking →
- Current spending per pupil: $10,161 in fiscal year 2023
- More than 5% of the 17,189 districts with a spending figure. Current spending leaves out buildings and debt, and a district of a few pupils can spend far more per pupil than any large one.
Spending and revenue
White County spent $10,161 per pupil in fiscal year 2023, against $5,519 in fiscal year 2005
Current spending per pupil, each fiscal year: current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them to NCES. In the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. A year with no column is a year the survey has no figure for.
U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics — School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal year 2005 onwards
The figures behind this chart
| Fiscal year | Spending per pupil | Current expenditure | Membership |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2023 | $10,161 | $39.3 million | 3,872 |
| FY2022 | $9,771 | $37.5 million | 3,837 |
| FY2021 | $9,302 | $35.6 million | 3,828 |
| FY2020 | $8,937 | $35.3 million | 3,947 |
| FY2019 | $8,763 | $34.5 million | 3,938 |
| FY2018 | $8,454 | $33.8 million | 3,997 |
| FY2017 | $7,925 | $32.0 million | 4,044 |
| FY2016 | $7,509 | $30.4 million | 4,047 |
| FY2015 | $7,332 | $30.4 million | 4,153 |
| FY2014 | $7,603 | $31.1 million | 4,093 |
| FY2013 | $6,979 | $28.6 million | 4,103 |
| FY2012 | $7,236 | $30.0 million | 4,148 |
| FY2011 | $6,946 | $28.8 million | 4,142 |
| FY2010 | $6,754 | $27.7 million | 4,108 |
| FY2009 | $6,598 | $26.8 million | 4,067 |
| FY2008 | $6,539 | $26.6 million | 4,070 |
| FY2007 | $6,032 | $25.1 million | 4,157 |
| FY2006 | $5,897 | $23.7 million | 4,013 |
| FY2005 | $5,519 | $22.1 million | 4,006 |
Revenue by source, fiscal year 2023
| Source | Revenue | Share of total |
|---|---|---|
| Federal | $11.3 million | 23.2% |
| State | $25.9 million | 53.2% |
| Local | $11.4 million | 23.6% |
| Total | $48.6 million |
Federal, state and local revenue as the F-33 records them. Each share is of the survey’s total revenue, so a part withheld does not inflate the others.
The district’s schools
8 operational schools, A to Z.
2 more columns on a wider screen
| School | Students |
|---|---|
| Bon De Croft Elementary | 170 |
| Cassville Elementary | 206 |
| Doyle Elementary | 309 |
| Findlay Elementary | 413 |
| Northfield Elementary School | 288 |
| White Co Middle School | 827 |
| White County High School | 1,014 |
| Woodland Park Elementary | 509 |
The district’s entry
- Status
- Open
- Type
- Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union
- Charter status
- Not a charter district
- Grades
- Pre-kindergarten to Grade 12
- NCES district ID
- 4704500
Elsewhere
- Public schools in Tennessee — enrollment, teachers and spending across the state, against the nation.
- Every school district in Tennessee — A to Z, each with its page.
- Tennessee on the American Factbook — the state’s entry, across every hub.
Sources
- Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved September 25, 2026
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.
- School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal years 2005 to 2023
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), "School District Finance Survey (F-33)," fiscal years 2005 to 2023.
Data retrieved