Weakley County
A public school district in Dresden, Tennessee, with 11 operational schools in 2024–25.
The district in 2024–25
- 3,993
- Students enrolled
- Not reported by the state
- Teachers, full-time equivalent
- Not reported by the state
- All staff, full-time equivalent
- $11,298
- Spending per pupil, fiscal year 2023
- Current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them.
How this compares
- Students enrolled: 3,993 in 2024–25
- Ranks 2,424th of 17,800 districts by enrollment, and 57th of 149 in Tennessee. Larger than 86% of the 17,800 districts in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. The ranking →
- Current spending per pupil: $11,298 in fiscal year 2023
- More than 11% of the 17,189 districts with a spending figure. Current spending leaves out buildings and debt, and a district of a few pupils can spend far more per pupil than any large one.
Spending and revenue
Weakley County spent $11,298 per pupil in fiscal year 2023, against $5,869 in fiscal year 2005
Current spending per pupil, each fiscal year: current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them to NCES. In the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. A year with no column is a year the survey has no figure for.
U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics — School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal year 2005 onwards
The figures behind this chart
| Fiscal year | Spending per pupil | Current expenditure | Membership |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2023 | $11,298 | $45.0 million | 3,987 |
| FY2022 | $10,601 | $42.2 million | 3,981 |
| FY2021 | $10,059 | $39.7 million | 3,944 |
| FY2020 | $9,172 | $37.5 million | 4,090 |
| FY2019 | $8,964 | $37.0 million | 4,124 |
| FY2018 | $8,568 | $35.9 million | 4,193 |
| FY2017 | $8,371 | $36.0 million | 4,301 |
| FY2016 | $7,951 | $34.6 million | 4,351 |
| FY2015 | $7,800 | $34.5 million | 4,422 |
| FY2014 | $7,624 | $34.6 million | 4,536 |
| FY2013 | $7,337 | $33.3 million | 4,533 |
| FY2012 | $7,571 | $35.6 million | 4,697 |
| FY2011 | $7,271 | $33.4 million | 4,588 |
| FY2010 | $7,159 | $34.8 million | 4,858 |
| FY2009 | $7,225 | $34.9 million | 4,833 |
| FY2008 | $7,196 | $34.1 million | 4,740 |
| FY2007 | $6,080 | $30.4 million | 4,995 |
| FY2006 | $6,046 | $29.7 million | 4,911 |
| FY2005 | $5,869 | $28.7 million | 4,885 |
Revenue by source, fiscal year 2023
| Source | Revenue | Share of total |
|---|---|---|
| Federal | $10.7 million | 20.7% |
| State | $26.8 million | 51.8% |
| Local | $14.2 million | 27.5% |
| Total | $51.7 million |
Federal, state and local revenue as the F-33 records them. Each share is of the survey’s total revenue, so a part withheld does not inflate the others.
The district’s schools
11 operational schools, A to Z.
2 more columns on a wider screen
| School | Students |
|---|---|
| Dresden Elementary | 440 |
| Dresden High School | 301 |
| Dresden Middle School | 335 |
| Gleason School | 393 |
| Greenfield School | 454 |
| Martin Elementary | 391 |
| Martin Middle School | 408 |
| Martin Primary | 470 |
| Sharon School | 190 |
| Weakley County Center For Adult Continuing Education | 0 |
| Westview High School | 611 |
The district’s entry
- Status
- Open
- Type
- Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union
- Charter status
- Not a charter district
- Grades
- Pre-kindergarten to Grade 12
- NCES district ID
- 4704470
Elsewhere
- Public schools in Tennessee — enrollment, teachers and spending across the state, against the nation.
- Every school district in Tennessee — A to Z, each with its page.
- Tennessee on the American Factbook — the state’s entry, across every hub.
Sources
- Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved September 25, 2026
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.
- School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal years 2005 to 2023
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), "School District Finance Survey (F-33)," fiscal years 2005 to 2023.
Data retrieved