Skip to content

Sumner County

A public school district in Gallatin, Tennessee, with 53 operational schools in 2024–25.

The district in 2024–25

30,719
Students enrolled
Not reported by the state
Teachers, full-time equivalent
Not reported by the state
All staff, full-time equivalent
$11,191
Spending per pupil, fiscal year 2023
Current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them.

How this compares

Students enrolled: 30,719 in 2024–⁠25
Ranks 207th of 17,800 districts by enrollment, and 8th of 149 in Tennessee. Larger than 98% of the 17,800 districts in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. The ranking →
Current spending per pupil: $11,191 in fiscal year 2023
More than 10% of the 17,189 districts with a spending figure. Current spending leaves out buildings and debt, and a district of a few pupils can spend far more per pupil than any large one.

Spending and revenue

Sumner County spent $11,191 per pupil in fiscal year 2023, against $6,458 in fiscal year 2005

Current spending per pupil, each fiscal year: current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them to NCES. In the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. A year with no column is a year the survey has no figure for.

U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics — School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal year 2005 onwards

About this chart

The figures

Sumner County spent $11,191 per pupil in fiscal year 2023, against $6,458 in fiscal year 2005. Current spending per pupil, each fiscal year: current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them to NCES. In the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. A year with no column is a year the survey has no figure for.
Fiscal yearSpending per pupilCurrent expenditureMembership
FY2023$11,191$343.9 million30,732
FY2022$10,286$311.1 million30,245
FY2021$10,056$297.5 million29,588
FY2020$9,369$285.1 million30,425
FY2019$9,183$274.3 million29,871
FY2018$8,794$260.6 million29,636
FY2017$8,592$253.3 million29,479
FY2016$8,409$245.5 million29,196
FY2015$8,335$240.9 million28,903
FY2014$7,874$226.1 million28,715
FY2013$7,362$209.4 million28,448
FY2012$7,672$217.6 million28,361
FY2011$7,719$215.4 million27,907
FY2010$7,602$206.4 million27,158
FY2009$7,561$202.2 million26,738
FY2008$7,268$192.5 million26,485
FY2007$6,742$176.2 million26,140
FY2006$6,458$165.0 million25,552
FY2005$6,458$159.6 million24,707

Revenue by source, fiscal year 2023

Revenue to Sumner County by source, fiscal year 2023, as the district reported it to NCES
SourceRevenueShare of total
Federal$38.5 million10.2%
State$172.5 million45.5%
Local$168.2 million44.4%
Total$379.2 million

Federal, state and local revenue as the F-33 records them. Each share is of the survey’s total revenue, so a part withheld does not inflate the others.

The district’s schools

53 operational schools, A to Z.

2 more columns on a wider screen

Schools in Sumner County
SchoolStudents
Beech Elementary407
Beech Sr High School1,477
Benny C. Bills Elementary School659
Bethpage Elementary254
Clyde Riggs Elementary301
Dr. William Burrus Elementary at Drakes Creek789
Gallatin Senior High School1,644
Gene W. Brown Elementary391
George A Whitten Elementary430
Guild Elementary556
Harold B. Williams Elementary School435
Hendersonville High School1,410
Howard Elementary591
Indian Lake Elementary464
J W Wiseman Elementary336
Jack Anderson Elementary829
Joe Shafer Middle School670
Knox Doss Middle School at Drakes Creek641
Lakeside Park Elementary358
Liberty Creek Elementary735
Liberty Creek High School993
Liberty Creek Middle School652
Madison Creek Elementary566
Merrol Hyde Magnet School670
Millersville Elementary252
Nannie Berry Elementary553
North Sumner Elementary212
Oakmont Elementary128
Patricia Brown Virtual Academy48
Portland East Middle School396
Portland Gateview Elementary School552
Portland High School1,151
Portland West Middle School491
R T Fisher Alternative127
Robert E Ellis Middle509
Rucker Stewart Middle585
Station Camp Elementary974
Station Camp High School1,137
Station Camp Middle School904
Sumner County Middle College High School54
Sumner County Middle Technical College High School at Portla26
T. W. Hunter Middle School532
Union Elementary School620
V G Hawkins Middle School403
Vena Stuart Elementary710
Walton Ferry Elementary359
Watt Hardison Elementary429
Westmoreland Elementary464
Westmoreland High School518
Westmoreland Middle School423
White House High School818
White House Intermediate School448
White House Middle School638

The district’s entry

Status
Open
Type
Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union
Charter status
Not a charter district
Grades
Pre-kindergarten to Grade 12
NCES district ID
4704020

Elsewhere

Sources

Data retrieved