Sullivan County
A public school district in Blountville, Tennessee, with 17 operational schools in 2024–25.
The district in 2024–25
- 7,878
- Students enrolled
- Not reported by the state
- Teachers, full-time equivalent
- Not reported by the state
- All staff, full-time equivalent
- $11,468
- Spending per pupil, fiscal year 2023
- Current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them.
How this compares
- Students enrolled: 7,878 in 2024–25
- Ranks 1,172nd of 17,800 districts by enrollment, and 24th of 149 in Tennessee. Larger than 93% of the 17,800 districts in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. The ranking →
- Current spending per pupil: $11,468 in fiscal year 2023
- More than 12% of the 17,189 districts with a spending figure. Current spending leaves out buildings and debt, and a district of a few pupils can spend far more per pupil than any large one.
Spending and revenue
Sullivan County spent $11,468 per pupil in fiscal year 2023, against $6,684 in fiscal year 2005
Current spending per pupil, each fiscal year: current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them to NCES. In the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. A year with no column is a year the survey has no figure for.
U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics — School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal year 2005 onwards
The figures behind this chart
| Fiscal year | Spending per pupil | Current expenditure | Membership |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2023 | $11,468 | $96.1 million | 8,380 |
| FY2022 | $11,164 | $94.6 million | 8,475 |
| FY2021 | $10,344 | $90.1 million | 8,715 |
| FY2020 | $9,558 | $88.4 million | 9,247 |
| FY2019 | $9,463 | $89.6 million | 9,464 |
| FY2018 | $9,204 | $89.8 million | 9,758 |
| FY2017 | $9,142 | $91.1 million | 9,967 |
| FY2016 | $8,947 | $91.4 million | 10,215 |
| FY2015 | $8,599 | $89.4 million | 10,400 |
| FY2014 | $8,449 | $90.0 million | 10,657 |
| FY2013 | $8,203 | $90.0 million | 10,975 |
| FY2012 | $8,512 | $95.0 million | 11,159 |
| FY2011 | $8,171 | $93.6 million | 11,451 |
| FY2010 | $8,107 | $94.9 million | 11,709 |
| FY2009 | $7,966 | $94.9 million | 11,907 |
| FY2008 | $7,791 | $94.7 million | 12,159 |
| FY2007 | $7,239 | $89.8 million | 12,399 |
| FY2006 | $6,982 | $87.0 million | 12,455 |
| FY2005 | $6,684 | $84.5 million | 12,645 |
Revenue by source, fiscal year 2023
| Source | Revenue | Share of total |
|---|---|---|
| Federal | $18.9 million | 17.3% |
| State | $44.2 million | 40.3% |
| Local | $46.5 million | 42.4% |
| Total | $109.7 million |
Federal, state and local revenue as the F-33 records them. Each share is of the survey’s total revenue, so a part withheld does not inflate the others.
The district’s schools
17 operational schools, A to Z.
2 more columns on a wider screen
The district’s entry
- Status
- Open
- Type
- Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union
- Charter status
- Not a charter district
- Grades
- Pre-kindergarten to Grade 12
- NCES district ID
- 4703990
Elsewhere
- Public schools in Tennessee — enrollment, teachers and spending across the state, against the nation.
- Every school district in Tennessee — A to Z, each with its page.
- Tennessee on the American Factbook — the state’s entry, across every hub.
Sources
- Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved September 25, 2026
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.
- School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal years 2005 to 2023
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), "School District Finance Survey (F-33)," fiscal years 2005 to 2023.
Data retrieved