Skip to content

Scott County

A public school district in Huntsville, Tennessee, with 7 operational schools in 2024–25.

The district in 2024–25

2,423
Students enrolled
Not reported by the state
Teachers, full-time equivalent
Not reported by the state
All staff, full-time equivalent
$11,976
Spending per pupil, fiscal year 2023
Current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them.

How this compares

Students enrolled: 2,423 in 2024–⁠25
Ranks 3,915th of 17,800 districts by enrollment, and 91st of 149 in Tennessee. Larger than 78% of the 17,800 districts in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. The ranking →
Current spending per pupil: $11,976 in fiscal year 2023
More than 16% of the 17,189 districts with a spending figure. Current spending leaves out buildings and debt, and a district of a few pupils can spend far more per pupil than any large one.

Spending and revenue

Scott County spent $11,976 per pupil in fiscal year 2023, against $6,015 in fiscal year 2005

Current spending per pupil, each fiscal year: current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them to NCES. In the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. A year with no column is a year the survey has no figure for.

U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics — School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal year 2005 onwards

About this chart

The figures

Scott County spent $11,976 per pupil in fiscal year 2023, against $6,015 in fiscal year 2005. Current spending per pupil, each fiscal year: current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them to NCES. In the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. A year with no column is a year the survey has no figure for.
Fiscal yearSpending per pupilCurrent expenditureMembership
FY2023$11,976$30.2 million2,524
FY2022$11,555$30.2 million2,613
FY2021$10,191$28.0 million2,745
FY2020$9,225$27.2 million2,945
FY2019$9,238$27.2 million2,945
FY2018$8,510$25.3 million2,977
FY2017$8,539$25.2 million2,950
FY2016$8,037$24.3 million3,022
FY2015$7,705$23.6 million3,066
FY2014$7,756$24.0 million3,097
FY2013$7,361$22.9 million3,112
FY2012$7,547$23.4 million3,098
FY2011$7,405$22.2 million2,994
FY2010$7,934$22.4 million2,821
FY2009$7,383$22.3 million3,024
FY2008$7,087$20.9 million2,953
FY2007$7,135$19.5 million2,733
FY2006$6,506$18.5 million2,840
FY2005$6,015$17.1 million2,850

Revenue by source, fiscal year 2023

Revenue to Scott County by source, fiscal year 2023, as the district reported it to NCES
SourceRevenueShare of total
Federal$10.0 million28.2%
State$20.2 million57.1%
Local$5.2 million14.6%
Total$35.4 million

Federal, state and local revenue as the F-33 records them. Each share is of the survey’s total revenue, so a part withheld does not inflate the others.

The district’s schools

7 operational schools, A to Z.

2 more columns on a wider screen

Schools in Scott County
SchoolStudents
Burchfield Elementary431
Fairview Elementary260
Huntsville Elementary364
Huntsville Middle School268
Robbins Elementary249
Scott High School653
Winfield Elementary198

The district’s entry

Status
Open
Type
Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union
Charter status
Not a charter district
Grades
Pre-kindergarten to Grade 12
NCES district ID
4703720

Elsewhere

Sources

Data retrieved