Morgan County
A public school district in Wartburg, Tennessee, with 8 operational schools in 2024–25.
The district in 2024–25
- 2,800
- Students enrolled
- Not reported by the state
- Teachers, full-time equivalent
- Not reported by the state
- All staff, full-time equivalent
- $12,432
- Spending per pupil, fiscal year 2023
- Current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them.
How this compares
- Students enrolled: 2,800 in 2024–25
- Ranks 3,491st of 17,800 districts by enrollment, and 84th of 149 in Tennessee. Larger than 80% of the 17,800 districts in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. The ranking →
- Current spending per pupil: $12,432 in fiscal year 2023
- More than 20% of the 17,189 districts with a spending figure. Current spending leaves out buildings and debt, and a district of a few pupils can spend far more per pupil than any large one.
Spending and revenue
Morgan County spent $12,432 per pupil in fiscal year 2023, against $6,547 in fiscal year 2005
Current spending per pupil, each fiscal year: current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them to NCES. In the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. A year with no column is a year the survey has no figure for.
U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics — School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal year 2005 onwards
About this chart
The figures
| Fiscal year | Spending per pupil | Current expenditure | Membership |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2023 | $12,432 | $35.8 million | 2,877 |
| FY2022 | $11,342 | $31.6 million | 2,789 |
| FY2021 | $10,380 | $29.0 million | 2,795 |
| FY2020 | $10,148 | $28.5 million | 2,806 |
| FY2019 | $9,878 | $28.6 million | 2,898 |
| FY2018 | $9,376 | $27.9 million | 2,980 |
| FY2017 | $8,957 | $27.7 million | 3,097 |
| FY2016 | $8,542 | $26.6 million | 3,117 |
| FY2015 | $8,420 | $26.9 million | 3,192 |
| FY2014 | $8,112 | $26.4 million | 3,250 |
| FY2013 | $7,566 | $25.1 million | 3,314 |
| FY2012 | $8,062 | $26.7 million | 3,318 |
| FY2011 | $7,571 | $25.1 million | 3,313 |
| FY2010 | $7,727 | $25.6 million | 3,319 |
| FY2009 | $7,619 | $26.0 million | 3,418 |
| FY2008 | $7,611 | $25.9 million | 3,399 |
| FY2007 | $6,464 | $24.6 million | 3,804 |
| FY2006 | $6,973 | $23.3 million | 3,344 |
| FY2005 | $6,547 | $21.4 million | 3,265 |
Revenue by source, fiscal year 2023
| Source | Revenue | Share of total |
|---|---|---|
| Federal | $9.1 million | 23.2% |
| State | $22.5 million | 57.5% |
| Local | $7.5 million | 19.3% |
| Total | $39.1 million |
Federal, state and local revenue as the F-33 records them. Each share is of the survey’s total revenue, so a part withheld does not inflate the others.
The district’s schools
8 operational schools, A to Z.
2 more columns on a wider screen
| School | Students |
|---|---|
| Central Elementary | 529 |
| Central High School | 367 |
| Central Middle School | 317 |
| Coalfield School | 505 |
| Morgan County Career and Technical Center | 42 |
| Oakdale School | 427 |
| Petros Joyner Elementary | 149 |
| Sunbright School | 464 |
The district’s entry
- Status
- Open
- Type
- Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union
- Charter status
- Not a charter district
- Grades
- Pre-kindergarten to Grade 12
- NCES district ID
- 4703090
Elsewhere
- Public schools in Tennessee — enrollment, teachers and spending across the state, against the nation.
- Every school district in Tennessee — A to Z, each with its page.
- Tennessee on the American Factbook — the state’s entry, across every hub.
Sources
- Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved September 25, 2026
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.
- School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal years 2005 to 2023
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), "School District Finance Survey (F-33)," fiscal years 2005 to 2023.
Data retrieved