Monroe County
A public school district in Madisonville, Tennessee, with 13 operational schools in 2024–25.
The district in 2024–25
- 5,006
- Students enrolled
- Not reported by the state
- Teachers, full-time equivalent
- Not reported by the state
- All staff, full-time equivalent
- $12,029
- Spending per pupil, fiscal year 2023
- Current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them.
How this compares
- Students enrolled: 5,006 in 2024–25
- Ranks 1,920th of 17,800 districts by enrollment, and 47th of 149 in Tennessee. Larger than 89% of the 17,800 districts in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. The ranking →
- Current spending per pupil: $12,029 in fiscal year 2023
- More than 16% of the 17,189 districts with a spending figure. Current spending leaves out buildings and debt, and a district of a few pupils can spend far more per pupil than any large one.
Spending and revenue
Monroe County spent $12,029 per pupil in fiscal year 2023, against $6,069 in fiscal year 2005
Current spending per pupil, each fiscal year: current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them to NCES. In the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. A year with no column is a year the survey has no figure for.
U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics — School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal year 2005 onwards
The figures behind this chart
| Fiscal year | Spending per pupil | Current expenditure | Membership |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2023 | $12,029 | $60.4 million | 5,023 |
| FY2022 | $11,307 | $56.5 million | 4,993 |
| FY2021 | $10,437 | $52.1 million | 4,988 |
| FY2020 | $9,423 | $49.6 million | 5,262 |
| FY2019 | $9,643 | $50.8 million | 5,273 |
| FY2018 | $9,230 | $48.5 million | 5,257 |
| FY2017 | $8,635 | $46.9 million | 5,433 |
| FY2016 | $8,285 | $45.0 million | 5,426 |
| FY2015 | $8,083 | $44.7 million | 5,531 |
| FY2014 | $8,551 | $47.3 million | 5,534 |
| FY2013 | $7,739 | $43.2 million | 5,586 |
| FY2012 | $7,794 | $43.6 million | 5,595 |
| FY2011 | $7,314 | $41.4 million | 5,667 |
| FY2010 | $7,170 | $40.2 million | 5,609 |
| FY2009 | $7,113 | $40.0 million | 5,625 |
| FY2008 | $6,978 | $38.8 million | 5,557 |
| FY2007 | $6,624 | $36.8 million | 5,560 |
| FY2006 | $6,293 | $34.4 million | 5,469 |
| FY2005 | $6,069 | $33.1 million | 5,457 |
Revenue by source, fiscal year 2023
| Source | Revenue | Share of total |
|---|---|---|
| Federal | $12.4 million | 20.1% |
| State | $32.5 million | 52.5% |
| Local | $16.9 million | 27.4% |
| Total | $61.8 million |
Federal, state and local revenue as the F-33 records them. Each share is of the survey’s total revenue, so a part withheld does not inflate the others.
The district’s schools
13 operational schools, A to Z.
2 more columns on a wider screen
The district’s entry
- Status
- Open
- Type
- Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union
- Charter status
- Not a charter district
- Grades
- Pre-kindergarten to Grade 12
- NCES district ID
- 4703000
Elsewhere
- Public schools in Tennessee — enrollment, teachers and spending across the state, against the nation.
- Every school district in Tennessee — A to Z, each with its page.
- Tennessee on the American Factbook — the state’s entry, across every hub.
Sources
- Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved September 25, 2026
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.
- School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal years 2005 to 2023
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), "School District Finance Survey (F-33)," fiscal years 2005 to 2023.
Data retrieved