McMinn County
A public school district in Athens, Tennessee, with 9 operational schools in 2024–25.
The district in 2024–25
- 5,051
- Students enrolled
- Not reported by the state
- Teachers, full-time equivalent
- Not reported by the state
- All staff, full-time equivalent
- $10,532
- Spending per pupil, fiscal year 2023
- Current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them.
How this compares
- Students enrolled: 5,051 in 2024–25
- Ranks 1,904th of 17,800 districts by enrollment, and 46th of 149 in Tennessee. Larger than 89% of the 17,800 districts in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. The ranking →
- Current spending per pupil: $10,532 in fiscal year 2023
- More than 6% of the 17,189 districts with a spending figure. Current spending leaves out buildings and debt, and a district of a few pupils can spend far more per pupil than any large one.
Spending and revenue
McMinn County spent $10,532 per pupil in fiscal year 2023, against $5,796 in fiscal year 2005
Current spending per pupil, each fiscal year: current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them to NCES. In the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. A year with no column is a year the survey has no figure for.
U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics — School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal year 2005 onwards
The figures behind this chart
| Fiscal year | Spending per pupil | Current expenditure | Membership |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2023 | $10,532 | $55.0 million | 5,225 |
| FY2022 | $9,933 | $51.6 million | 5,197 |
| FY2021 | $9,532 | $50.2 million | 5,267 |
| FY2020 | $8,988 | $49.4 million | 5,493 |
| FY2019 | $8,545 | $48.0 million | 5,620 |
| FY2018 | $8,334 | $47.4 million | 5,690 |
| FY2017 | $7,987 | $46.3 million | 5,800 |
| FY2016 | $7,596 | $44.2 million | 5,819 |
| FY2015 | $7,626 | $44.7 million | 5,861 |
| FY2014 | $7,606 | $45.1 million | 5,926 |
| FY2013 | $6,963 | $42.4 million | 6,093 |
| FY2012 | $7,181 | $44.6 million | 6,207 |
| FY2011 | $7,002 | $42.8 million | 6,111 |
| FY2010 | $6,961 | $42.5 million | 6,108 |
| FY2009 | $6,735 | $41.8 million | 6,209 |
| FY2008 | $6,542 | $40.4 million | 6,183 |
| FY2007 | $6,436 | $38.6 million | 5,998 |
| FY2006 | $5,966 | $35.8 million | 6,007 |
| FY2005 | $5,796 | $33.8 million | 5,833 |
Revenue by source, fiscal year 2023
| Source | Revenue | Share of total |
|---|---|---|
| Federal | $13.7 million | 23.0% |
| State | $30.5 million | 51.2% |
| Local | $15.3 million | 25.7% |
| Total | $59.5 million |
Federal, state and local revenue as the F-33 records them. Each share is of the survey’s total revenue, so a part withheld does not inflate the others.
The district’s schools
9 operational schools, A to Z.
2 more columns on a wider screen
| School | Students |
|---|---|
| Calhoun Elementary | 317 |
| Central High School | 583 |
| E K Baker Elementary | 307 |
| Englewood Elementary | 565 |
| McMinn High School | 1,272 |
| Mountain View Elementary | 566 |
| Niota Elementary | 523 |
| Riceville Elementary | 641 |
| Rogers Creek Elementary | 277 |
The district’s entry
- Status
- Open
- Type
- Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union
- Charter status
- Not a charter district
- Grades
- Pre-kindergarten to Grade 12
- NCES district ID
- 4702820
Elsewhere
- Public schools in Tennessee — enrollment, teachers and spending across the state, against the nation.
- Every school district in Tennessee — A to Z, each with its page.
- Tennessee on the American Factbook — the state’s entry, across every hub.
Sources
- Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved September 25, 2026
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.
- School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal years 2005 to 2023
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), "School District Finance Survey (F-33)," fiscal years 2005 to 2023.
Data retrieved