McKenzie
A public school district in McKenzie, Tennessee, with 3 operational schools in 2024–25.
The district in 2024–25
- 1,296
- Students enrolled
- Not reported by the state
- Teachers, full-time equivalent
- Not reported by the state
- All staff, full-time equivalent
- $9,911
- Spending per pupil, fiscal year 2023
- Current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them.
How this compares
- Students enrolled: 1,296 in 2024–25
- Ranks 6,285th of 17,800 districts by enrollment, and 120th of 149 in Tennessee. Larger than 64% of the 17,800 districts in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. The ranking →
- Current spending per pupil: $9,911 in fiscal year 2023
- More than 4% of the 17,189 districts with a spending figure. Current spending leaves out buildings and debt, and a district of a few pupils can spend far more per pupil than any large one.
Spending and revenue
McKenzie spent $9,911 per pupil in fiscal year 2023, against $5,370 in fiscal year 2005
Current spending per pupil, each fiscal year: current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them to NCES. In the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. A year with no column is a year the survey has no figure for.
U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics — School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal year 2005 onwards
The figures behind this chart
| Fiscal year | Spending per pupil | Current expenditure | Membership |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2023 | $9,911 | $12.8 million | 1,288 |
| FY2022 | $9,640 | $12.0 million | 1,240 |
| FY2021 | $9,212 | $11.0 million | 1,199 |
| FY2020 | $8,708 | $10.9 million | 1,255 |
| FY2019 | $8,688 | $11.2 million | 1,290 |
| FY2018 | $7,768 | $10.5 million | 1,356 |
| FY2017 | $7,894 | $10.4 million | 1,316 |
| FY2016 | $7,636 | $10.4 million | 1,365 |
| FY2015 | $7,466 | $10.2 million | 1,368 |
| FY2014 | $7,082 | $10.0 million | 1,413 |
| FY2013 | $6,644 | $9.4 million | 1,411 |
| FY2012 | $6,789 | $9.8 million | 1,438 |
| FY2011 | $6,254 | $8.9 million | 1,420 |
| FY2010 | $6,558 | $9.2 million | 1,405 |
| FY2009 | $6,149 | $8.8 million | 1,425 |
| FY2008 | $5,934 | $8.6 million | 1,442 |
| FY2007 | $5,680 | $8.1 million | 1,426 |
| FY2006 | $5,457 | $7.5 million | 1,373 |
| FY2005 | $5,370 | $7.2 million | 1,339 |
Revenue by source, fiscal year 2023
| Source | Revenue | Share of total |
|---|---|---|
| Federal | $2.7 million | 18.0% |
| State | $8.7 million | 57.4% |
| Local | $3.8 million | 24.6% |
| Total | $15.2 million |
Federal, state and local revenue as the F-33 records them. Each share is of the survey’s total revenue, so a part withheld does not inflate the others.
The district’s schools
3 operational schools, A to Z.
2 more columns on a wider screen
| School | Students |
|---|---|
| McKenzie Elementary | 552 |
| McKenzie High School | 366 |
| McKenzie Middle School | 378 |
The district’s entry
- Status
- Open
- Type
- Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union
- Charter status
- Not a charter district
- Grades
- Pre-kindergarten to Grade 12
- NCES district ID
- 4702790
Elsewhere
- Public schools in Tennessee — enrollment, teachers and spending across the state, against the nation.
- Every school district in Tennessee — A to Z, each with its page.
- Tennessee on the American Factbook — the state’s entry, across every hub.
Sources
- Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved September 25, 2026
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.
- School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal years 2005 to 2023
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), "School District Finance Survey (F-33)," fiscal years 2005 to 2023.
Data retrieved