Greene County
A public school district in Greeneville, Tennessee, with 18 operational schools in 2024–25.
The district in 2024–25
- 6,088
- Students enrolled
- Not reported by the state
- Teachers, full-time equivalent
- Not reported by the state
- All staff, full-time equivalent
- $10,693
- Spending per pupil, fiscal year 2023
- Current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them.
How this compares
- Students enrolled: 6,088 in 2024–25
- Ranks 1,546th of 17,800 districts by enrollment, and 34th of 149 in Tennessee. Larger than 91% of the 17,800 districts in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. The ranking →
- Current spending per pupil: $10,693 in fiscal year 2023
- More than 7% of the 17,189 districts with a spending figure. Current spending leaves out buildings and debt, and a district of a few pupils can spend far more per pupil than any large one.
Spending and revenue
Greene County spent $10,693 per pupil in fiscal year 2023, against $5,857 in fiscal year 2005
Current spending per pupil, each fiscal year: current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them to NCES. In the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. A year with no column is a year the survey has no figure for.
U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics — School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal year 2005 onwards
About this chart
The figures
| Fiscal year | Spending per pupil | Current expenditure | Membership |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2023 | $10,693 | $67.0 million | 6,265 |
| FY2022 | $10,137 | $62.9 million | 6,208 |
| FY2021 | $9,834 | $60.9 million | 6,196 |
| FY2020 | $8,986 | $58.0 million | 6,458 |
| FY2019 | $8,961 | $59.6 million | 6,649 |
| FY2018 | $8,551 | $58.0 million | 6,783 |
| FY2017 | $8,194 | $56.5 million | 6,895 |
| FY2016 | $7,970 | $55.6 million | 6,980 |
| FY2015 | $7,791 | $55.0 million | 7,065 |
| FY2014 | $7,558 | $55.1 million | 7,290 |
| FY2013 | $7,072 | $51.9 million | 7,342 |
| FY2012 | $7,237 | $54.0 million | 7,467 |
| FY2011 | $6,626 | $49.9 million | 7,537 |
| FY2010 | $6,799 | $50.8 million | 7,474 |
| FY2009 | $6,456 | $49.2 million | 7,621 |
| FY2008 | $6,566 | $50.3 million | 7,666 |
| FY2007 | $6,227 | $46.7 million | 7,494 |
| FY2006 | $6,118 | $44.2 million | 7,232 |
| FY2005 | $5,857 | $41.5 million | 7,082 |
Revenue by source, fiscal year 2023
| Source | Revenue | Share of total |
|---|---|---|
| Federal | $13.8 million | 15.2% |
| State | $37.9 million | 41.6% |
| Local | $39.4 million | 43.3% |
| Total | $91.2 million |
Federal, state and local revenue as the F-33 records them. Each share is of the survey’s total revenue, so a part withheld does not inflate the others.
The district’s schools
18 operational schools, A to Z.
2 more columns on a wider screen
The district’s entry
- Status
- Open
- Type
- Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union
- Charter status
- Not a charter district
- Grades
- Pre-kindergarten to Grade 12
- NCES district ID
- 4701470
Elsewhere
- Public schools in Tennessee — enrollment, teachers and spending across the state, against the nation.
- Every school district in Tennessee — A to Z, each with its page.
- Tennessee on the American Factbook — the state’s entry, across every hub.
Sources
- Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved September 25, 2026
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.
- School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal years 2005 to 2023
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), "School District Finance Survey (F-33)," fiscal years 2005 to 2023.
Data retrieved