Grainger County
A public school district in Rutledge, Tennessee, with 9 operational schools in 2024–25.
The district in 2024–25
- 2,975
- Students enrolled
- Not reported by the state
- Teachers, full-time equivalent
- Not reported by the state
- All staff, full-time equivalent
- $11,710
- Spending per pupil, fiscal year 2023
- Current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them.
How this compares
- Students enrolled: 2,975 in 2024–25
- Ranks 3,295th of 17,800 districts by enrollment, and 78th of 149 in Tennessee. Larger than 81% of the 17,800 districts in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. The ranking →
- Current spending per pupil: $11,710 in fiscal year 2023
- More than 14% of the 17,189 districts with a spending figure. Current spending leaves out buildings and debt, and a district of a few pupils can spend far more per pupil than any large one.
Spending and revenue
Grainger County spent $11,710 per pupil in fiscal year 2023, against $6,341 in fiscal year 2005
Current spending per pupil, each fiscal year: current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them to NCES. In the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. A year with no column is a year the survey has no figure for.
U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics — School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal year 2005 onwards
The figures behind this chart
| Fiscal year | Spending per pupil | Current expenditure | Membership |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2023 | $11,710 | $36.4 million | 3,105 |
| FY2022 | $11,165 | $34.7 million | 3,112 |
| FY2021 | $10,071 | $32.4 million | 3,217 |
| FY2020 | $9,513 | $31.5 million | 3,315 |
| FY2019 | $9,217 | $31.4 million | 3,408 |
| FY2018 | $8,782 | $30.8 million | 3,503 |
| FY2017 | $8,559 | $30.0 million | 3,504 |
| FY2016 | $7,915 | $28.8 million | 3,637 |
| FY2015 | $7,857 | $28.4 million | 3,610 |
| FY2014 | $7,625 | $27.8 million | 3,651 |
| FY2013 | $7,175 | $26.2 million | 3,647 |
| FY2012 | $7,364 | $26.9 million | 3,658 |
| FY2011 | $6,950 | $25.2 million | 3,626 |
| FY2010 | $6,828 | $25.0 million | 3,661 |
| FY2009 | $7,851 | $24.5 million | 3,121 |
| FY2008 | $6,528 | $23.1 million | 3,546 |
| FY2007 | $6,151 | $22.0 million | 3,583 |
| FY2006 | $5,927 | $21.3 million | 3,600 |
| FY2005 | $6,341 | $20.5 million | 3,239 |
Revenue by source, fiscal year 2023
| Source | Revenue | Share of total |
|---|---|---|
| Federal | $6.7 million | 17.4% |
| State | $23.2 million | 60.3% |
| Local | $8.6 million | 22.3% |
| Total | $38.4 million |
Federal, state and local revenue as the F-33 records them. Each share is of the survey’s total revenue, so a part withheld does not inflate the others.
The district’s schools
9 operational schools, A to Z.
2 more columns on a wider screen
| School | Students |
|---|---|
| Bean Station Elementary | 437 |
| Grainger Academy | 6 |
| Grainger Co Adult High | 10 |
| Grainger High School | 756 |
| Joppa Elementary | 404 |
| Rutledge Elementary School | 323 |
| Rutledge Middle School | 363 |
| Rutledge Primary | 199 |
| Washburn School | 477 |
The district’s entry
- Status
- Open
- Type
- Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union
- Charter status
- Not a charter district
- Grades
- Pre-kindergarten to Grade 12
- NCES district ID
- 4701440
Elsewhere
- Public schools in Tennessee — enrollment, teachers and spending across the state, against the nation.
- Every school district in Tennessee — A to Z, each with its page.
- Tennessee on the American Factbook — the state’s entry, across every hub.
Sources
- Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved September 25, 2026
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.
- School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal years 2005 to 2023
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), "School District Finance Survey (F-33)," fiscal years 2005 to 2023.
Data retrieved