Franklin County
A public school district in Winchester, Tennessee, with 11 operational schools in 2024–25.
The district in 2024–25
- 4,972
- Students enrolled
- Not reported by the state
- Teachers, full-time equivalent
- Not reported by the state
- All staff, full-time equivalent
- $11,602
- Spending per pupil, fiscal year 2023
- Current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them.
How this compares
- Students enrolled: 4,972 in 2024–25
- Ranks 1,934th of 17,800 districts by enrollment, and 48th of 149 in Tennessee. Larger than 89% of the 17,800 districts in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. The ranking →
- Current spending per pupil: $11,602 in fiscal year 2023
- More than 13% of the 17,189 districts with a spending figure. Current spending leaves out buildings and debt, and a district of a few pupils can spend far more per pupil than any large one.
Spending and revenue
Franklin County spent $11,602 per pupil in fiscal year 2023, against $6,395 in fiscal year 2005
Current spending per pupil, each fiscal year: current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them to NCES. In the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. A year with no column is a year the survey has no figure for.
U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics — School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal year 2005 onwards
The figures behind this chart
| Fiscal year | Spending per pupil | Current expenditure | Membership |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2023 | $11,602 | $58.1 million | 5,004 |
| FY2022 | $10,515 | $54.1 million | 5,146 |
| FY2021 | $9,877 | $50.8 million | 5,146 |
| FY2020 | $9,511 | $50.5 million | 5,311 |
| FY2019 | $9,576 | $51.6 million | 5,388 |
| FY2018 | $9,264 | $50.3 million | 5,428 |
| FY2017 | $8,794 | $49.6 million | 5,635 |
| FY2016 | $8,451 | $48.2 million | 5,699 |
| FY2015 | $8,199 | $46.6 million | 5,687 |
| FY2014 | $8,225 | $47.7 million | 5,800 |
| FY2013 | $7,838 | $46.0 million | 5,867 |
| FY2012 | $7,767 | $46.2 million | 5,950 |
| FY2011 | $7,456 | $45.5 million | 6,106 |
| FY2010 | $7,425 | $45.0 million | 6,056 |
| FY2009 | $7,531 | $46.2 million | 6,141 |
| FY2008 | $7,221 | $45.0 million | 6,234 |
| FY2007 | $7,226 | $44.2 million | 6,116 |
| FY2006 | $6,622 | $39.8 million | 6,015 |
| FY2005 | $6,395 | $38.3 million | 5,983 |
Revenue by source, fiscal year 2023
| Source | Revenue | Share of total |
|---|---|---|
| Federal | $12.8 million | 19.6% |
| State | $29.9 million | 45.7% |
| Local | $22.6 million | 34.7% |
| Total | $65.4 million |
Federal, state and local revenue as the F-33 records them. Each share is of the survey’s total revenue, so a part withheld does not inflate the others.
The district’s schools
11 operational schools, A to Z.
2 more columns on a wider screen
| School | Students |
|---|---|
| Broadview Elementary | 232 |
| Clark Memorial School | 539 |
| Cowan Elementary | 260 |
| Decherd Elementary | 436 |
| Franklin Co High School | 1,144 |
| Huntland School | 631 |
| North Lake Elementary | 257 |
| North Middle School | 557 |
| Rock Creek Elementary | 410 |
| Sewanee Elementary | 145 |
| South Middle School | 361 |
The district’s entry
- Status
- Open
- Type
- Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union
- Charter status
- Not a charter district
- Grades
- Pre-kindergarten to Grade 12
- NCES district ID
- 4701290
Elsewhere
- Public schools in Tennessee — enrollment, teachers and spending across the state, against the nation.
- Every school district in Tennessee — A to Z, each with its page.
- Tennessee on the American Factbook — the state’s entry, across every hub.
Sources
- Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved September 25, 2026
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.
- School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal years 2005 to 2023
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), "School District Finance Survey (F-33)," fiscal years 2005 to 2023.
Data retrieved