Skip to content

PPP loans in Wisconsin

The Small Business Administration guaranteed 187,824 Paycheck Protection Program loans to businesses operating in Wisconsin, $14.2 billion in all: 1.8% of the program’s dollars. 178,740 of those loans carry a forgiveness amount in SBA’s file as of September 30, 2024.

Wisconsin, as of September 30, 2024

$14.2 billion
Approved
$14,219,744,015
As each loan now stands in SBA’s file.
1.8%
Share of the program
Of the $792.6 billion approved nationally, as each loan now stands.
187,824
Loans
145,830 first draws and 41,994 second draws.
95.2%
Forgiven
178,740 of 187,824 loans carry a forgiveness amount, $14.0 billion in all.
3.5%
Charged off
6,654 of 187,824 loans, approved for $146.0 million. That is the loans' size, not what SBA lost.

Every county in Wisconsin, as SBA names it

The county is SBA’s name for where the business operates. A loan SBA filed with no county is counted under “Not stated” rather than left out.

Paycheck Protection Program loans in Wisconsin by county, as of September 30, 2024
CountyApprovedLoansForgiven loans
Milwaukee$2,379,403,77932,00327,681
Dane$1,716,688,36418,51417,513
Waukesha$1,609,615,10513,44313,140
Brown$747,962,2087,3937,057
Outagamie$558,205,6725,7265,556
Racine$402,236,8325,3904,852
Washington$371,847,1333,8783,787
Winnebago$345,628,4553,8113,646
Marathon$325,007,3293,9633,891
La Crosse$298,291,1713,6973,624
Kenosha$290,155,7203,8213,482
Rock$281,665,8554,2804,014
Ozaukee$263,150,0813,2023,139
Sheboygan$258,251,6632,7522,664
Eau Claire$254,314,2972,9912,924
Walworth$245,729,2263,0432,971
Fond Du Lac$219,408,0642,7752,671
Saint Croix$209,088,1722,9392,894
Sauk$196,932,1202,6462,595
Manitowoc$192,290,9822,0451,989
Wood$159,600,8702,0682,034
Jefferson$157,688,1632,1792,142
Columbia$155,013,4452,1882,148
Dodge$152,406,9132,4352,397
Portage$133,813,7301,8801,844
Chippewa$132,946,2202,2892,255
Barron$111,527,6062,3932,367
Door$97,937,0391,7861,766
Monroe$97,355,9691,5661,538
Douglas$94,750,832920895
Grant$90,679,7532,9262,907
Waupaca$88,020,0261,6991,661
Dunn$86,477,2681,5791,559
Polk$76,874,6151,7451,726
Oneida$68,834,8271,3331,312
Calumet$68,032,4641,0951,081
Shawano$67,702,1921,3261,292
Pierce$65,326,3871,4681,450
Green$64,457,4151,7121,685
Marinette$64,360,2111,1001,084
Clark$63,707,8971,3581,350
Ashland$50,465,678584572
Iowa$49,904,1681,4241,408
Lincoln$46,479,024760747
Taylor$46,116,2231,0361,029
Vernon$45,747,4051,6201,603
Trempealeau$44,749,0221,4081,402
Oconto$44,598,4541,0161,003
Green Lake$44,322,676662657
Kewaunee$44,013,082865854
Vilas$43,540,835844828
Juneau$37,752,278932919
Langlade$34,006,543620603
Sawyer$33,247,450682674
Lafayette$32,753,0941,3171,295
Crawford$32,654,302944937
Jackson$31,906,360708696
Richland$31,077,923841835
Burnett$30,515,278499480
Waushara$28,227,453621609
Bayfield$27,503,723547540
Washburn$26,401,001717707
Adams$23,246,514386368
Price$20,893,274463459
Buffalo$19,266,507978974
Rusk$18,702,039504500
Pepin$18,064,169452447
Marquette$16,062,768372360
Forest$15,054,810322316
Iron$9,875,239204200
Menominee$4,924,9942420
Florence$3,825,751107107
Not stated$459,91088

Wisconsin elsewhere on the Factbook

  • Reported crimeCrime and justice

    Offenses reported to police by type, the trend, and the reporting coverage.

  • Cities by violent crime rateCrime and justice

    What each agency serving 25,000 or more reported, ranked. Agency populations overlap, so these do not add up to the state.

  • Prison populationCrime and justice

    People held under the state’s correctional authority, and the imprisonment rate. A different publisher counting a different thing.

  • Arrests by race, sex and ageCrime and justice

    Arrests as the FBI’s participating agencies reported them, with what the figures can and cannot support at the top.

  • Hate crimeCrime and justice

    Incidents reported to the FBI by bias motivation, as counts — the collection publishes no participation share, so there is no rate to compare states on.

  • Federal obligationsFederal spending

    What federal agencies obligated against a place of performance in the state, per resident and by agency.

  • Registered nonprofitsNonprofits

    How many organizations the IRS lists in the state, what they report as revenue, and which kinds of work they do.

  • Payments to doctorsHealth

    What drug and device companies reported paying doctors with a practice address in the state, and the largest recipients.

  • Farm program paymentsFarm subsidies

    What the Farm Service Agency paid through the state’s county offices, by program and by recipient. The offices that administered the payments, not a count of farms: a recipient addressed elsewhere is counted where they were paid.

  • The Wisconsin Factbook entryAcross the Factbook

    Every measure the Factbook publishes for this state in one place, each with where it ranks among the others and the record it came from.

The immigration hub has no page for this state: EOIR runs no immigration court here, and CBP publishes by sector and field office, which are its own areas of responsibility rather than a geography. Immigration and the border.

Sources

Data retrieved