Fishtail Elementary
A public school district in Fishtail, Montana, with 1 operational school in 2024–25.
The district in 2024–25
- 15
- Students enrolled
- 1
- Teachers, full-time equivalent
- Derived by NCES from the state’s counts.
- 5
- All staff, full-time equivalent
- $26,385
- Spending per pupil, fiscal year 2023
- Current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them.
How this compares
- Students enrolled: 15 in 2024–25
- Ranks 17,601st of 17,800 districts by enrollment, and 335th of 394 in Montana. Larger than 1% of the 17,800 districts in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. The ranking →
- Current spending per pupil: $26,385 in fiscal year 2023
- More than 89% of the 17,189 districts with a spending figure. Current spending leaves out buildings and debt, and a district of a few pupils can spend far more per pupil than any large one.
Spending and revenue
Fishtail Elementary spent $26,385 per pupil in fiscal year 2023, against $19,857 in fiscal year 2005
Current spending per pupil, each fiscal year: current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them to NCES. In the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. A year with no column is a year the survey has no figure for.
U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics — School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal year 2005 onwards
The figures behind this chart
| Fiscal year | Spending per pupil | Current expenditure | Membership |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2023 | $26,385 | $343.0 thousand | 13 |
| FY2022 | $23,214 | $325.0 thousand | 14 |
| FY2021 | $21,071 | $295.0 thousand | 14 |
| FY2020 | $14,267 | $214.0 thousand | 15 |
| FY2019 | $24,000 | $168.0 thousand | 7 |
| FY2018 | $39,500 | $158.0 thousand | 4 |
| FY2017 | $21,375 | $171.0 thousand | 8 |
| FY2016 | $37,000 | $148.0 thousand | 4 |
| FY2015 | not reported | $150.0 thousand | not reported |
| FY2014 | $53,333 | $160.0 thousand | 3 |
| FY2013 | $14,700 | $147.0 thousand | 10 |
| FY2012 | $28,400 | $142.0 thousand | 5 |
| FY2011 | $18,286 | $128.0 thousand | 7 |
| FY2010 | $48,000 | $144.0 thousand | 3 |
| FY2009 | $23,286 | $163.0 thousand | 7 |
| FY2008 | $14,778 | $133.0 thousand | 9 |
| FY2007 | $9,714 | $136.0 thousand | 14 |
| FY2006 | $11,667 | $140.0 thousand | 12 |
| FY2005 | $19,857 | $139.0 thousand | 7 |
Revenue by source, fiscal year 2023
| Source | Revenue | Share of total |
|---|---|---|
| Federal | $139.0 thousand | 31.4% |
| State | $125.0 thousand | 28.2% |
| Local | $179.0 thousand | 40.4% |
| Total | $443.0 thousand |
Federal, state and local revenue as the F-33 records them. Each share is of the survey’s total revenue, so a part withheld does not inflate the others.
The district’s schools
1 operational school, A to Z.
2 more columns on a wider screen
| School | Students |
|---|---|
| Fishtail School | 15 |
The district’s entry
- Name as NCES lists it
- Fishtail Elem
- Status
- Open
- Type
- Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union
- Charter status
- Not applicable
- Grades
- Pre-kindergarten to Grade 8
- NCES district ID
- 3010800
Elsewhere
- Public schools in Montana — enrollment, teachers and spending across the state, against the nation.
- Every school district in Montana — A to Z, each with its page.
- Montana on the American Factbook — the state’s entry, across every hub.
Sources
- Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved September 25, 2026
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.
- School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal years 2005 to 2023
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), "School District Finance Survey (F-33)," fiscal years 2005 to 2023.
Data retrieved