Skip to content

PPP loans in Hawaii

The Small Business Administration guaranteed 44,567 Paycheck Protection Program loans to businesses operating in Hawaii, $3.8 billion in all: 0.5% of the program’s dollars. 43,030 of those loans carry a forgiveness amount in SBA’s file as of September 30, 2024.

Hawaii, as of September 30, 2024

$3.8 billion
Approved
$3,810,947,655
As each loan now stands in SBA’s file.
0.5%
Share of the program
Of the $792.6 billion approved nationally, as each loan now stands.
44,567
Loans
30,927 first draws and 13,640 second draws.
96.6%
Forgiven
43,030 of 44,567 loans carry a forgiveness amount, $3.7 billion in all.
1.9%
Charged off
846 of 44,567 loans, approved for $31.1 million. That is the loans' size, not what SBA lost.

Every county in Hawaii, as SBA names it

The county is SBA’s name for where the business operates. A loan SBA filed with no county is counted under “Not stated” rather than left out.

Paycheck Protection Program loans in Hawaii by county, as of September 30, 2024
CountyApprovedLoansForgiven loans
Honolulu$2,684,900,12929,42728,414
Maui$515,508,1216,6806,467
Hawaii$397,328,5765,5525,344
Kauai$213,198,3302,9072,804
Not stated$12,50011

Hawaii elsewhere on the Factbook

  • Reported crimeCrime and justice

    Offenses reported to police by type, the trend, and the reporting coverage.

  • Cities by violent crime rateCrime and justice

    What each agency serving 25,000 or more reported, ranked. Agency populations overlap, so these do not add up to the state.

  • Prison populationCrime and justice

    People held under the state’s correctional authority, and the imprisonment rate. A different publisher counting a different thing.

  • Arrests by race, sex and ageCrime and justice

    Arrests as the FBI’s participating agencies reported them, with what the figures can and cannot support at the top.

  • Hate crimeCrime and justice

    Incidents reported to the FBI by bias motivation, as counts — the collection publishes no participation share, so there is no rate to compare states on.

  • Federal obligationsFederal spending

    What federal agencies obligated against a place of performance in the state, per resident and by agency.

  • Registered nonprofitsNonprofits

    How many organizations the IRS lists in the state, what they report as revenue, and which kinds of work they do.

  • Payments to doctorsHealth

    What drug and device companies reported paying doctors with a practice address in the state, and the largest recipients.

  • Immigration courtsImmigration and the border

    The EOIR courts sitting in the state, what they completed and still have pending, and how far apart their asylum grant rates are. The courts, not the state’s residents: a detention court hears cases from far outside it.

  • Farm program paymentsFarm subsidies

    What the Farm Service Agency paid through the state’s county offices, by program and by recipient. The offices that administered the payments, not a count of farms: a recipient addressed elsewhere is counted where they were paid.

  • The Hawaii Factbook entryAcross the Factbook

    Every measure the Factbook publishes for this state in one place, each with where it ranks among the others and the record it came from.

The immigration link above is EOIR’s courts, which sit in this state. CBP’s encounters are not by state and will not be: its sectors and field offices are areas of responsibility rather than a geography, and assigning them to states would be a claim the data does not make. Immigration and the border.

Sources

Data retrieved