Record · District
Shawnee Mission Pub School
A public school district in Shawnee Mission, Kansas, with 45 operational schools in 2024–25.
The district in 2024–25
- 26,513
- Students enrolled
- 1,860
- Teachers, full-time equivalent
- Derived by NCES from the state’s counts.
- 3,537.2
- All staff, full-time equivalent
- $12,247
- Spending per pupil, fiscal year 2023
- Current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them.
How this compares
- Students enrolled: 26,513 in 2024–25
- Ranks 247th of 17,800 districts by enrollment, and 3rd of 289 in Kansas. Larger than 98% of the 17,800 districts in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. The ranking →
- Current spending per pupil: $12,247 in fiscal year 2023
- More than 18% of the 17,189 districts with a spending figure. Current spending leaves out buildings and debt, and a district of a few pupils can spend far more per pupil than any large one.
Spending and revenue
Shawnee Mission Pub School spent $13,332 per pupil in fiscal year 2024, against $7,275 in fiscal year 2005
Current spending per pupil, each fiscal year: current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them to NCES. In the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. A year with no column is a year the survey has no figure for.
Source: NCES
About this chart
The figures
| Fiscal year | Spending per pupil | Current expenditure | Membership |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2024 | $13,332 | $352.8 million | 26,464 |
| FY2023 | $12,247 | $326.0 million | 26,618 |
| FY2022 | $12,112 | $320.5 million | 26,462 |
| FY2021 | $11,356 | $296.6 million | 26,117 |
| FY2020 | $10,782 | $297.5 million | 27,587 |
| FY2019 | $10,190 | $281.1 million | 27,590 |
| FY2018 | $10,267 | $283.2 million | 27,584 |
| FY2017 | $9,276 | $255.2 million | 27,512 |
| FY2016 | $9,104 | $251.7 million | 27,643 |
| FY2015 | $9,305 | $255.6 million | 27,470 |
| FY2014 | not reported | not reported | 27,404 |
| FY2013 | $9,489 | $260.3 million | 27,435 |
| FY2012 | $9,376 | $260.3 million | 27,760 |
| FY2011 | $9,311 | $259.1 million | 27,822 |
| FY2010 | $10,078 | $276.1 million | 27,395 |
| FY2009 | $10,050 | $275.8 million | 27,442 |
| FY2008 | $9,453 | $262.8 million | 27,798 |
| FY2007 | $8,507 | $242.6 million | 28,518 |
| FY2006 | $7,877 | $224.7 million | 28,523 |
| FY2005 | $7,275 | $210.7 million | 28,958 |
Revenue by source, fiscal year 2023
| Source | Revenue | Share of total |
|---|---|---|
| Federal | $29.3 million | 7.1% |
| State | $220.8 million | 53.7% |
| Local | $161.3 million | 39.2% |
| Total | $411.3 million |
Federal, state and local revenue as the F-33 records them. Each share is of the survey’s total revenue, so a part withheld does not inflate the others.
The district’s schools
45 operational schools, A to Z.
2 more columns on a wider screen
The district’s entry
- Name as NCES lists it
- Shawnee Mission Pub Sch
- Status
- Open
- Type
- Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union
- Charter status
- Not applicable
- Grades
- Pre-kindergarten to Grade 12
- NCES district ID
- 2011640
Elsewhere
- Public schools in Kansas — enrollment, teachers and spending across the state, against the nation.
- Every school district in Kansas — A to Z, each with its page.
- Kansas on the American Factbook — the state’s entry, across every hub.
Sources
- Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved October 21, 2026
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.
- School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal years 2005 to 2024
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), "School District Finance Survey (F-33)," fiscal years 2005 to 2024.
Compiled automatically from Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 and School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal years 2005 to 2024 by a checked SQL query · Editor: Kian O'Connor · How this site is built
Data retrieved