Record · District
Bushwick Ascend Charter School
A public school district in Brooklyn, New York, with 1 operational school in 2024–25.
The district in 2024–25
- 738
- Students enrolled
- 42
- Teachers, full-time equivalent
- Derived by NCES from the state’s counts.
- 62
- All staff, full-time equivalent
- $25,461
- Spending per pupil, fiscal year 2023
- Current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them.
How this compares
- Students enrolled: 738 in 2024–25
- Ranks 8,983rd of 17,800 districts by enrollment, and 569th of 1,040 in New York. Larger than 49% of the 17,800 districts in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. The ranking →
- Current spending per pupil: $25,461 in fiscal year 2023
- More than 87% of the 17,189 districts with a spending figure. Current spending leaves out buildings and debt, and a district of a few pupils can spend far more per pupil than any large one.
Spending and revenue
Bushwick Ascend Charter School spent $18,908 per pupil in fiscal year 2024, against $19,834 in fiscal year 2020
Current spending per pupil, each fiscal year: current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them to NCES. In the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. A year with no column is a year the survey has no figure for.
Source: NCES
About this chart
The figures
| Fiscal year | Spending per pupil | Current expenditure | Membership |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2024 | $18,908 | $14.6 million | 771 |
| FY2023 | $25,461 | $20.3 million | 799 |
| FY2022 | $21,682 | $18.0 million | 830 |
| FY2021 | $18,431 | $16.5 million | 893 |
| FY2020 | $19,834 | $18.1 million | 911 |
| FY2019 | not reported | not reported | 887 |
| FY2018 | not reported | not reported | 883 |
| FY2017 | not reported | not reported | 790 |
| FY2016 | not reported | not reported | 745 |
| FY2015 | not reported | not reported | 630 |
| FY2014 | not reported | not reported | 541 |
| FY2013 | not reported | not reported | 417 |
| FY2012 | not reported | not reported | 247 |
| FY2011 | not reported | not reported | 208 |
Revenue by source, fiscal year 2023
| Source | Revenue | Share of total |
|---|---|---|
| Federal | $0 | |
| State | $0 | |
| Local | $0 | |
| Total | $0 |
Federal, state and local revenue as the F-33 records them. Each share is of the survey’s total revenue, so a part withheld does not inflate the others.
The district’s schools
1 operational school, A to Z.
2 more columns on a wider screen
| School | Students |
|---|---|
| Bushwick Ascend Charter School | 738 |
The district’s entry
- Name as NCES lists it
- BUSHWICK ASCEND CHARTER SCHOOL
- Status
- Open
- Type
- Independent charter district
- Charter status
- LEA for federal programs
- Grades
- Kindergarten to Grade 8
- NCES district ID
- 3601017
Elsewhere
- Public schools in New York — enrollment, teachers and spending across the state, against the nation.
- Every school district in New York — A to Z, each with its page.
- New York on the American Factbook — the state’s entry, across every hub.
Sources
- Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved September 30, 2026
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.
- School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal years 2011 to 2024
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), "School District Finance Survey (F-33)," fiscal years 2011 to 2024.
Compiled automatically from Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 and School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal years 2011 to 2024 by a checked SQL query · Editor: Kian O'Connor · How this site is built
Data retrieved