Skip to content
American Factbook
Menu

Record · School

Sayles School

A public regular school in Baltic, Connecticut, in Sprague School District. NCES’s record for 2024–25.

The school in 2024–25

254
Students enrolled
23
Teachers, full-time equivalent
142 55.9% of students
Eligible for free or reduced-price lunch
Eligibility, as the state reported it. It is not a count of family income.
Not reported by the state
Directly certified for free meals

Students by grade, and by race and sex, 2024–25

Students at Sayles School by grade, 2024–25, as NCES published them
GradeStudents
Pre-Kindergarten24
Kindergarten14
Grade 130
Grade 224
Grade 327
Grade 424
Grade 523
Grade 627
Grade 734
Grade 827
Not Specified0

1 more column on a wider screen

Students at Sayles School by race/ethnicity and sex, 2024–25, as NCES published them
Race/ethnicityFemaleMale
American Indian or Alaska Native12
Asian10
Black or African American31
Hispanic/Latino2024
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander00
Two or more races1224
White8581
Not SpecifiedNot in NCES’s fileNot in NCES’s file

NCES’s own subtotals, under its own names. The race and sex counts are NCES’s subtotal without adult education, so they can add to less than the enrollment above. A count NCES suppressed or did not receive says so; this site computes no cell, total or share from them.

Beside Connecticut and the nation, 2024–25

1 more column on a wider screen

The school, Connecticut and the fifty states and DC, 2024–25
MeasureThis schoolConnecticut
Students enrolled254490,969
Teachers, full-time equivalent2340,267.7
Pupils per teacher11.012.2

The state’s and the nation’s pupils per teacher are over the schools that reported both counts, 995 in Connecticut; TN reported no teachers and are left out of the national ratio.

Students by grade, the school and Connecticut, 2024–25, as NCES published them
GradeThis schoolConnecticut
Grade 13034,972
Grade 22435,922
Grade 32737,482
Grade 42435,518
Grade 52337,148
Grade 62737,346
Grade 73437,560
Grade 82738,025
Kindergarten1430,298
Not Specified00
Pre-Kindergarten2420,762

Counts, never shares: each is NCES’s own, from the school file and the state file. There is no national column by grade, and none by race or sex for the state or the nation: NCES publishes no national membership file, and this site reads the state file by grade.

How this compares

Students enrolled: 254 in 2024–⁠25
Larger than 25% of the 95,462 public schools in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. Larger than 14% of the 998 schools in Connecticut that report one.
Pupils per teacher: 11.0 in 2024–⁠25
More than 17% of the 91,868 schools reporting both pupils and teachers. Pupils per full-time-equivalent teacher, the school’s own two counts.

The school’s entry

Status
Open
Type
Regular School
Charter
No
Grades
Pre-kindergarten to Grade 8
Level
Elementary
Locale
Rural, fringe
County
Southeastern Connecticut Planning Region
School lunch program
Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Virtual instruction
Supplemental Virtual
NCES school ID
090426000842

More about Connecticut →

Sources

  • Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved October 21, 2026

    SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.

Compiled automatically from Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 by a checked SQL query · Editor: Kian O'Connor · How this site is built

Data retrieved