Skip to content
American Factbook
Menu

Record · School

PS 229 Emanuel Kaplan

A public regular school in Woodside, New York, in New York City Geographic District #24. NCES’s record for 2024–25.

The school in 2024–25

1,066
Students enrolled
68
Teachers, full-time equivalent
80375.3% of students
Eligible for free or reduced-price lunch
Eligibility, as the state reported it. It is not a count of family income.
Not reported by the state
Directly certified for free meals

Students by grade, and by race and sex, 2024–25

Students at PS 229 Emanuel Kaplan by grade, 2024–25, as NCES published them
GradeStudents
Pre-Kindergarten36
Kindergarten153
Grade 1161
Grade 2161
Grade 3178
Grade 4194
Grade 5175
Ungraded8
Not Specified0

1 more column on a wider screen

Students at PS 229 Emanuel Kaplan by race/ethnicity and sex, 2024–25, as NCES published them
Race/ethnicityFemaleMale
American Indian or Alaska Native33
Asian191218
Black or African American58
Hispanic/Latino258251
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander11
Two or more races63
White5959
Not SpecifiedNot in NCES’s fileNot in NCES’s file

NCES’s own subtotals, under its own names. The race and sex counts are NCES’s subtotal without adult education, so they can add to less than the enrollment above. A count NCES suppressed or did not receive says so; this site computes no cell, total or share from them.

How this compares

Students enrolled: 1,066 in 2024–⁠25
Larger than 92% of the 95,462 public schools in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. Larger than 92% of the 4,810 schools in New York that report one.
Pupils per teacher: 15.7 in 2024–⁠25
More than 61% of the 91,868 schools reporting both pupils and teachers. Pupils per full-time-equivalent teacher, the school’s own two counts.

The school’s entry

Name as NCES lists it
PS 229 EMANUEL KAPLAN
Status
Open
Type
Regular School
Charter
No
Grades
Pre-kindergarten to Grade 5
Level
Elementary
Locale
City, large
County
Queens County
School lunch program
Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Virtual instruction
No virtual instruction
NCES school ID
360009802739

Sources

  • Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved September 30, 2026

    SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.

Compiled automatically from Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 by a checked SQL query · Editor: Kian O'Connor · How this site is built

Data retrieved