Skip to content
American Factbook
Menu

Record · School

Northwood High

A public regular school in Pittsboro, North Carolina, in Chatham County Schools. NCES’s record for 2024–25.

The school in 2024–25

634
Students enrolled
49
Teachers, full-time equivalent
631 99.5% of students
Eligible for free or reduced-price lunch
Eligibility, as the state reported it. It is not a count of family income.
Not reported by the state
Directly certified for free meals

Students by grade, and by race and sex, 2024–25

Students at Northwood High by grade, 2024–25, as NCES published them
GradeStudents
Grade 9149
Grade 10156
Grade 11169
Grade 12160
Not Specified0

1 more column on a wider screen

Students at Northwood High by race/ethnicity and sex, 2024–25, as NCES published them
Race/ethnicityFemaleMale
American Indian or Alaska Native01
Asian51
Black or African American6040
Hispanic/Latino5341
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander21
Two or more races2221
White165222
Not SpecifiedNot in NCES’s fileNot in NCES’s file

NCES’s own subtotals, under its own names. The race and sex counts are NCES’s subtotal without adult education, so they can add to less than the enrollment above. A count NCES suppressed or did not receive says so; this site computes no cell, total or share from them.

Beside North Carolina and the nation, 2024–25

1 more column on a wider screen

The school, North Carolina and the fifty states and DC, 2024–25
MeasureThis schoolNorth Carolina
Students enrolled6341,550,037
Teachers, full-time equivalent4995,944.7
Pupils per teacher12.916.1

The state’s and the nation’s pupils per teacher are over the schools that reported both counts, 2,676 in North Carolina; TN reported no teachers and are left out of the national ratio.

Students by grade, the school and North Carolina, 2024–25, as NCES published them
GradeThis schoolNorth Carolina
Grade 10156124,752
Grade 11169117,352
Grade 12160109,557
Grade 9149134,005
Not Specified00

Counts, never shares: each is NCES’s own, from the school file and the state file. There is no national column by grade, and none by race or sex for the state or the nation: NCES publishes no national membership file, and this site reads the state file by grade.

How this compares

Students enrolled: 634 in 2024–⁠25
Larger than 75% of the 95,462 public schools in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. Larger than 68% of the 2,692 schools in North Carolina that report one.
Pupils per teacher: 12.9 in 2024–⁠25
More than 33% of the 91,868 schools reporting both pupils and teachers. Pupils per full-time-equivalent teacher, the school’s own two counts.

The school’s entry

Status
Open
Type
Regular School
Charter
No
Grades
Grade 9 to Grade 12
Level
High
Locale
Rural, fringe
County
Chatham County
School lunch program
Yes participating without using any Provision or the CEO
Virtual instruction
No virtual instruction
NCES school ID
370075000313

More about North Carolina →

Sources

  • Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved October 21, 2026

    SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.

Compiled automatically from Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 by a checked SQL query · Editor: Kian O'Connor · How this site is built

Data retrieved