Skip to content
American Factbook
Menu

Record · School

James Whitcomb Riley Elementary School

A public regular school in Vincennes, Indiana, in Vincennes Community School Corp. NCES’s record for 2024–25.

The school in 2024–25

154
Students enrolled
14.3
Teachers, full-time equivalent
9662.3% of students
Eligible for free or reduced-price lunch
Eligibility, as the state reported it. It is not a count of family income.
73
Directly certified for free meals

Students by grade, and by race and sex, 2024–25

Students at James Whitcomb Riley Elementary School by grade, 2024–25, as NCES published them
GradeStudents
Kindergarten22
Grade 132
Grade 222
Grade 334
Grade 422
Grade 522
Not Specified0

1 more column on a wider screen

Students at James Whitcomb Riley Elementary School by race/ethnicity and sex, 2024–25, as NCES published them
Race/ethnicityFemaleMale
American Indian or Alaska Native00
Asian20
Black or African American38
Hispanic/Latino35
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander00
Two or more races53
White5867
Not SpecifiedNot in NCES’s fileNot in NCES’s file

NCES’s own subtotals, under its own names. The race and sex counts are NCES’s subtotal without adult education, so they can add to less than the enrollment above. A count NCES suppressed or did not receive says so; this site computes no cell, total or share from them.

How this compares

Students enrolled: 154 in 2024–⁠25
Larger than 14% of the 95,462 public schools in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. Larger than 5% of the 1,871 schools in Indiana that report one.
Pupils per teacher: 10.7 in 2024–⁠25
More than 15% of the 91,868 schools reporting both pupils and teachers. Pupils per full-time-equivalent teacher, the school’s own two counts.

The school’s entry

Name as NCES lists it
James Whitcomb Riley Elem Sch
Status
Open
Type
Regular School
Charter
No
Grades
Kindergarten to Grade 5
Level
Elementary
Locale
Town, remote
County
Knox County
School lunch program
Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Virtual instruction
No virtual instruction
NCES school ID
181212001929

Sources

  • Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved September 30, 2026

    SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.

Compiled automatically from Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 by a checked SQL query · Editor: Kian O'Connor · How this site is built

Data retrieved