Skip to content
American Factbook
Menu

Record · School

Buchanan K-1 Center - 18

A public regular school in Huron, South Dakota, in Huron School District 02-2. NCES’s record for 2024–25.

The school in 2024–25

467
Students enrolled
28.9
Teachers, full-time equivalent
327 70.0% of students
Eligible for free or reduced-price lunch
Eligibility, as the state reported it. It is not a count of family income.
153
Directly certified for free meals

Students by grade, and by race and sex, 2024–25

Students at Buchanan K-1 Center - 18 by grade, 2024–25, as NCES published them
GradeStudents
Kindergarten242
Grade 1225
Not Specified0

1 more column on a wider screen

Students at Buchanan K-1 Center - 18 by race/ethnicity and sex, 2024–25, as NCES published them
Race/ethnicityFemaleMale
American Indian or Alaska Native41
Asian4444
Black or African American23
Hispanic/Latino9897
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander22
Two or more races313
White7678
Not SpecifiedNot in NCES’s fileNot in NCES’s file

NCES’s own subtotals, under its own names. The race and sex counts are NCES’s subtotal without adult education, so they can add to less than the enrollment above. A count NCES suppressed or did not receive says so; this site computes no cell, total or share from them.

How this compares

Students enrolled: 467 in 2024–⁠25
Larger than 56% of the 95,462 public schools in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. Larger than 88% of the 684 schools in South Dakota that report one.
Pupils per teacher: 16.1 in 2024–⁠25
More than 65% of the 91,868 schools reporting both pupils and teachers. Pupils per full-time-equivalent teacher, the school’s own two counts.

The school’s entry

Status
Open
Type
Regular School
Charter
Not applicable
Grades
Kindergarten to Grade 1
Level
Elementary
Locale
Town, remote
County
Beadle County
School lunch program
Yes participating without using any Provision or the CEO
Virtual instruction
No virtual instruction
NCES school ID
463548001370

More about South Dakota →

Sources

  • Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved September 30, 2026

    SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.

Compiled automatically from Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 by a checked SQL query · Editor: Kian O'Connor · How this site is built

Data retrieved