Skip to content

Record · School

Washington Irving Elementary School

A public regular school in Hammond, Indiana, in School City of Hammond. NCES’s record for 2024–25.

The school in 2024–25

754
Students enrolled
37.3
Teachers, full-time equivalent
42556.4% of students
Eligible for free or reduced-price lunch
Eligibility, as the state reported it. It is not a count of family income.
321
Directly certified for free meals

Students by grade, and by race and sex, 2024–25

Students at Washington Irving Elementary School by grade, 2024–25, as NCES published them
GradeStudents
Pre-Kindergarten0
Kindergarten106
Grade 1112
Grade 2114
Grade 3111
Grade 4105
Grade 5116
Grade 690
Not Specified0

1 more column on a wider screen

Students at Washington Irving Elementary School by race/ethnicity and sex, 2024–25, as NCES published them
Race/ethnicityFemaleMale
American Indian or Alaska Native30
Asian00
Black or African American8066
Hispanic/Latino246303
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander00
Two or more races1514
White1314
Not SpecifiedNot in NCES’s fileNot in NCES’s file

NCES’s own subtotals, under its own names. The race and sex counts are NCES’s subtotal without adult education, so they can add to less than the enrollment above. A count NCES suppressed or did not receive says so; this site computes no cell, total or share from them.

How this compares

Students enrolled: 754 in 2024–⁠25
Larger than 83% of the 95,462 public schools in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. Larger than 84% of the 1,871 schools in Indiana that report one.
Pupils per teacher: 20.2 in 2024–⁠25
More than 86% of the 91,868 schools reporting both pupils and teachers. Pupils per full-time-equivalent teacher, the school’s own two counts.

The school’s entry

Name as NCES lists it
Washington Irving Elementary Sch
Status
Open
Type
Regular School
Charter
No
Grades
Pre-kindergarten to Grade 6
Level
Elementary
Locale
Suburb, large
County
Lake County
School lunch program
Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Virtual instruction
No virtual instruction
NCES school ID
180432000751

Sources

  • Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved September 30, 2026

    SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.

Compiled automatically from Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 by a checked SQL query · Editor: Kian O'Connor · How this site is built

Data retrieved