Skip to content

Record · School

Big Island Elementary

A public regular school in Big Island, Virginia, in Bedford County Public Schools. NCES’s record for 2024–25.

The school in 2024–25

182
Students enrolled
12.2
Teachers, full-time equivalent
15082.4% of students
Eligible for free or reduced-price lunch
Eligibility, as the state reported it. It is not a count of family income.
150
Directly certified for free meals

Students by grade, and by race and sex, 2024–25

Students at Big Island Elementary by grade, 2024–25, as NCES published them
GradeStudents
Pre-Kindergarten15
Kindergarten24
Grade 125
Grade 233
Grade 327
Grade 425
Grade 533
Not Specified0

1 more column on a wider screen

Students at Big Island Elementary by race/ethnicity and sex, 2024–25, as NCES published them
Race/ethnicityFemaleMale
American Indian or Alaska Native10
Asian00
Black or African American52
Hispanic/Latino54
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander00
Two or more races48
White7677
Not SpecifiedNot in NCES’s fileNot in NCES’s file

NCES’s own subtotals, under its own names. The race and sex counts are NCES’s subtotal without adult education, so they can add to less than the enrollment above. A count NCES suppressed or did not receive says so; this site computes no cell, total or share from them.

How this compares

Students enrolled: 182 in 2024–⁠25
Larger than 17% of the 95,462 public schools in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. Larger than 4% of the 1,860 schools in Virginia that report one.
Pupils per teacher: 14.9 in 2024–⁠25
More than 54% of the 91,868 schools reporting both pupils and teachers. Pupils per full-time-equivalent teacher, the school’s own two counts.

The school’s entry

Status
Open
Type
Regular School
Charter
No
Grades
Pre-kindergarten to Grade 5
Level
Elementary
Locale
Rural, distant
County
Bedford County
School lunch program
Yes under Community Eligibility Option (CEO)
Virtual instruction
Supplemental Virtual
NCES school ID
510036000145

Sources

  • Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved September 30, 2026

    SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.

Compiled automatically from Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 by a checked SQL query · Editor: Kian O'Connor · How this site is built

Data retrieved