Record · District
West Elk
A public school district in Howard, Kansas, with 2 operational schools in 2024–25.
The district in 2024–25
- 597
- Students enrolled
- 37.9
- Teachers, full-time equivalent
- Derived by NCES from the state’s counts.
- 107.3
- All staff, full-time equivalent
- $22,479
- Spending per pupil, fiscal year 2023
- Current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them.
How this compares
- Students enrolled: 597 in 2024–25
- Ranks 10,072nd of 17,800 districts by enrollment, and 133rd of 289 in Kansas. Larger than 43% of the 17,800 districts in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. The ranking →
- Current spending per pupil: $22,479 in fiscal year 2023
- More than 81% of the 17,189 districts with a spending figure. Current spending leaves out buildings and debt, and a district of a few pupils can spend far more per pupil than any large one.
Spending and revenue
West Elk spent $19,705 per pupil in fiscal year 2024, against $9,231 in fiscal year 2005
Current spending per pupil, each fiscal year: current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them to NCES. In the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. A year with no column is a year the survey has no figure for.
Source: The College Scorecard
About this chart
The figures
| Fiscal year | Spending per pupil | Current expenditure | Membership |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2024 | $19,705 | $12.0 million | 607 |
| FY2023 | $22,479 | $12.4 million | 551 |
| FY2022 | not reported | $11.0 million | not reported |
| FY2021 | $23,557 | $9.1 million | 386 |
| FY2020 | $22,912 | $9.1 million | 397 |
| FY2019 | $21,592 | $8.1 million | 373 |
| FY2018 | $20,255 | $7.6 million | 373 |
| FY2017 | $19,532 | $7.1 million | 363 |
| FY2016 | $12,783 | $4.7 million | 368 |
| FY2015 | $14,069 | $4.9 million | 346 |
| FY2014 | $13,035 | $4.4 million | 340 |
| FY2013 | $13,988 | $4.5 million | 324 |
| FY2012 | $13,379 | $4.5 million | 335 |
| FY2011 | $12,673 | $4.3 million | 339 |
| FY2010 | $13,270 | $4.8 million | 363 |
| FY2009 | $12,598 | $4.9 million | 386 |
| FY2008 | $12,221 | $4.6 million | 380 |
| FY2007 | $11,483 | $4.5 million | 389 |
| FY2006 | $9,991 | $4.4 million | 439 |
| FY2005 | $9,231 | $4.2 million | 458 |
Revenue by source, fiscal year 2023
| Source | Revenue | Share of total |
|---|---|---|
| Federal | $1.5 million | 11.2% |
| State | $7.0 million | 51.6% |
| Local | $5.0 million | 37.2% |
| Total | $13.5 million |
Federal, state and local revenue as the F-33 records them. Each share is of the survey’s total revenue, so a part withheld does not inflate the others.
The district’s schools
2 operational schools, A to Z.
2 more columns on a wider screen
| School | Students |
|---|---|
| West Elk Schools | 371 |
| West Elk Virtual Academy | 226 |
The district’s entry
- Status
- Open
- Type
- Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union
- Charter status
- Not applicable
- Grades
- Pre-kindergarten to Grade 12
- NCES district ID
- 2007500
Elsewhere
- Public schools in Kansas — enrollment, teachers and spending across the state, against the nation.
- Every school district in Kansas — A to Z, each with its page.
- Kansas on the American Factbook — the state’s entry, across every hub.
Sources
- Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved September 30, 2026
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.
- School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal years 2005 to 2024
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), "School District Finance Survey (F-33)," fiscal years 2005 to 2024.
Compiled automatically from Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 and School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal years 2005 to 2024 by a checked SQL query · Editor: Kian O'Connor · How this site is built
Data retrieved