Discovery Charter School
A public school district in Bahama, North Carolina, with 1 operational school in 2024–25.
The district in 2024–25
- 453
- Students enrolled
- 29.4
- Teachers, full-time equivalent
- Derived by NCES from the state’s counts.
- Suppressed by NCES
- All staff, full-time equivalent
- $11,828
- Spending per pupil, fiscal year 2023
- Current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them.
How this compares
- Students enrolled: 453 in 2024–25
- Ranks 11,479th of 17,800 districts by enrollment, and 250th of 334 in North Carolina. Larger than 35% of the 17,800 districts in the fifty states and DC that report an enrollment. The ranking →
- Current spending per pupil: $11,828 in fiscal year 2023
- More than 15% of the 17,189 districts with a spending figure. Current spending leaves out buildings and debt, and a district of a few pupils can spend far more per pupil than any large one.
Spending and revenue
Discovery Charter School spent $11,070 per pupil in fiscal year 2024, against $9,534 in fiscal year 2020
Current spending per pupil, each fiscal year: current expenditure over fall membership, both as the district reported them to NCES. In the dollars of each year, not adjusted for inflation. A year with no column is a year the survey has no figure for.
Source: The College Scorecard
About this chart
The figures
| Fiscal year | Spending per pupil | Current expenditure | Membership |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2024 | $11,070 | $4.6 million | 412 |
| FY2023 | $11,828 | $3.9 million | 332 |
| FY2022 | $11,000 | $2.9 million | 261 |
| FY2021 | $9,622 | $1.8 million | 188 |
| FY2020 | $9,534 | $1.1 million | 116 |
| FY2019 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| FY2018 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| FY2017 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Revenue by source, fiscal year 2023
| Source | Revenue | Share of total |
|---|---|---|
| Federal | $322.0 thousand | 4.4% |
| State | $2.5 million | 34.6% |
| Local | $4.4 million | 60.9% |
| Total | $7.3 million |
Federal, state and local revenue as the F-33 records them. Each share is of the survey’s total revenue, so a part withheld does not inflate the others.
The district’s schools
1 operational school, A to Z.
2 more columns on a wider screen
| School | Students |
|---|---|
| Discovery Charter | 453 |
The district’s entry
- Status
- Open
- Type
- Independent charter district
- Charter status
- LEA for IDEA
- Grades
- Grade 6 to Grade 11
- NCES district ID
- 3700418
Elsewhere
- Public schools in North Carolina — enrollment, teachers and spending across the state, against the nation.
- Every school district in North Carolina — A to Z, each with its page.
- North Carolina on the American Factbook — the state’s entry, across every hub.
Sources
- Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 — National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · U.S. Government work · retrieved September 30, 2026
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25.
- School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal years 2017 to 2024
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data (CCD), "School District Finance Survey (F-33)," fiscal years 2017 to 2024.
Compiled automatically from Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024–25 and School District Finance Survey (F-33), fiscal years 2017 to 2024 by a checked SQL query · Editor: Kian O'Connor · How this site is built
Data retrieved